1000 x 90

North Wilkesboro Speedway’s ‘Save the Speedway’ Campaign Takes Off Today!

By Emily Willis

The 20th anniversary of the closing of North Wilkesboro Speedway is Sept. 29. To commemorate the anniversary, there will be an online campaign where race fans can share memories, pictures, and videos of the past racing years.

The campaign will kick off using Twitter and Facebook. If you have any photos or footage that you would like to share, make sure to use #NWS20Years on the social media sites of your choice! The campaign will last from today until Sept. 29.

North Wilkesboro Speedway opened the doors back in 1947. Over its racing history, running through 1996, the track has seen events such as:

  • The 93 NASCAR Premier
  • Four XFINITY Series
  • Two Camping World Truck Series
  • Countless regional, late model and modified events

Along with these events, two NASCAR Hall of Fame winners and NASCAR champions from Wilkes County have raced and won at the track!

  • Junior Johnson – four wins as a driver along with 16 as an owner out of his shop in nearby Ingle Hollow, NC
  • Benny Parsons – the 2017 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductee

If you have any photos or footage of the Speedway, please participate in the campaign by sharing on social media!