1000 x 90

Habich Named Northwestern Conference Coach Of The Year For 2013, Nine Pioneers Named All-Conference

By. Mark S. Kenna

Dec. 2, 2013. Watauga High School Football head coach Ryan Habich was named coach of the year in the Northwestern Conference for the 2013 season.

This is the first time a WHS football head coach has been named coach of the year since Adrian Snow in 2006.

“I’m truly honored,” Habich said.

Habich when he was coaching for Fuquay-Varina High School.

“This is a coaching staff award,” Habich said. “In the game of football you have eight or nine other assistant coaches. We’re honored here at Watauga High School.”

Also for the first time since the 2006, nine Pioneers were named All-Northwestern Conference: wide receiver Cam Baker; wingback Tj Poulos; tight-end Hunter Isaacs; kicker Stephen Shirley; quarterback Aaron Dobbins, offensive tackle Jake Williams; offensive guard Keenan Foxx; linebacker Dakota McCrary and secondary-position player Justin Greer.

Two others were named as honorable mentions: running back Zach Williams and offensive lineman Jacob Rutz.

Of the nine players named all-conference only Baker and Shirley are seniors.  The rest are juniors except for Dobbins, a sophomore.

“This is just a good tribute to our kids,” Habich said. “We have laid a good foundation for Watauga football. We got a lot of respect for how our kids played.”

WHS athletic director Tom Wright, was pleased with what Habich and the team accomplished and feels that this is only the beginning.

“He just did an exceptional job this year I think he has the program headed in the right direction, and we’re really excited,” Wright said.

Habich completed the year with with an 8-4 record and a berth in the 4-A state playoffs. The finished ended, though, when the Pioneers lost to Porter Ridge High School 26-33.  This was an impressive battle considering Porter Ridge crushed the Pioneers in the first round of the playoffs last year 0-69.