1000 x 90

Crossnore’s David Walker Broke Through to Capture Top Honors at 35th Annual All-Saints Open Oct. 27

Oct. 28, 2013. Crossnore resident David Walker took top honors at the 35th annual All-Saints Golf Championship on Sunday, Oct. 27, at the Sugar Mountain Golf Club.

Held on the final day of the season at the popular municipal layout, a field of 16 players were greeted by sunny skies, moderate temperatures and a slashing wind that sent par scurrying for cover in the abundant mountain laurel.

Walker, who is a key member of the greens crew at Sugar, posted a hard-earned score of 71, one shot better than James Earnhardt of Newland, the 2007 winner of the All-Saints trophy. 

Tom McAuliffe of the Sugar Mountain G.C. was four shots back in third place. 

For Walker, who finished as runner-up twice before in the event, it was a particularly satisfying conclusion to the 2013 mountain golf season. 

allsaints 2013 002