1000 x 90

Appalachian State University Womens’ Basketball Senior Anna Freeman Grabs NCCSIA All-State Honors

June 25, 2013. Appalachian State women’s basketball senior forward Anna Freeman has been named to the North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association (NCCSIA) 2012-13 University Division All-State Women’s Basketball Team as announced by the NCCSIA on Tuesday.

imgres-2Ten players representing seven different North Carolina Universities were named to the 2012-13 NCCSIA University Division All-State Teams, while all five first-team honorees are seniors originally from North Carolina. 

Freeman, a four-time All-SoCon selection, started every contest of her career to amass 132 consecutive starts and 1,858points while finishing as the Southern Conference’s leader in scoring (16.6 ppg) and steals (3.o spg). 

As a senior, Freeman led the Mountaineers in scoring on 12 occasions and scored 20 or more points in nine contests, including a career-high 36 against Virginia Tech (Nov 14). She also led the team in rebounding on 15 occasions and grabbed 10 or more boards in 12 contests, including a career-high 18 against the College of Charleston (Feb. 20).

Freeman capped off her senior run with 10 double-doubles and 265 career blocks to become App State’s all-time leader in steals (383) and blocks (265), and finished ranked among Appalachian’s all-time top 10 in points and rebounds (2), field goals (3), free-throws and assists (4), and three-point field goals (6). 

All-State Nominees were submitted by North Carolina sports information professionals and voted on by the NCCSIA members.

Founded in 2002, The North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association (NCCSIA) is comprised of sports information professionals from NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA and independent institutions from the state of North Carolina. The purpose of the organization is to promote collegiate athletics at all schools. 

Appalachian State women’s basketball will part with four seniors, including Anna Freeman, but returns eight members of last year’s squad that advanced to the SoCon Tournament semifinals and earned its fourth consecutive postseason berth.