1000 x 90

App State Football Holds Awards Banquet


Appalachian State’s football seniors pose on the red carpet prior to Saturday night’s awards banquet at Varsity Gym. Photo courtesy: Will Phillips (Appalachian State Football Video)

Individual award recipients included:

Offensive Player of the Year (presented by co-offensive coordinator Dwayne Ledford): Sr. OL Jesse Chapman (Cookeville, Tenn./Cookeville)

Defensive Player of the Year (presented by defensive coordinator Nate Woody): Sr. DL Ronald Blair (Greensboro, Ga./Greene County)

Special Teams Player of the Year (presented by running backs coach Stu Holt): Sr. PK Zach Matics (Jacksonville, N.C./Southwest-Onslow)

Offensive Difference Maker (presented by secondary coach Scot Sloan): Jr. WR Zy Letman (Lincolnton, Ga./Lincolnton)

Defensive Difference Maker (presented by co-offensive coordinator Frank Ponce): Jr. OLB Rashaad Townes (Macon, Ga./Howard)

Academic Achievement Award (presented by head coach Scott Satterfield): Sr. ILB Cody McKinney (Vilas, N.C./Watauga)

Each of Appalachian State’s 23 graduating seniors was recognized individually and presented with a framed jersey. Captains Simms McElfresh (Charlotte, N.C./Charlotte Christian) and Blair spoke on behalf of the senior class.

Appalachian State (10-2, 7-1 Sun Belt) looks to become the winningest team in Sun Belt Conference history next Saturday when it makes its first-ever NCAA bowl appearance versus Ohio (8-4, 5-3 MAC) at the Raycom Media Camellia Bowl in Montgomery, Ala. Kickoff is set for 5:30 p.m. ET and the game will be televised nationally on ESPN.