1000 x 90

Who Filed in Avery County’s Municipal Elections? Contested Races in Banner Elk, Newland, Crossnore

Compiled by Jesse Wood

July 19, 2013. Below are the candidate filings for upcoming municipal elections in Avery County. The deadline to file was noon Friday. Contested races include the Banner Elk Town Council and Newland Town Council. Also, four alderman are running for three spots in Crossnore. 

Banner Elk 


  • Brenda Lyerly

Banner Elk Town Council (Two seats open)

  • Robert E. Tufts
  • Crossnore Mayor
  • Tudor Vance


Alderman (Three seats open)

  • Jesse Smith
  • Nathan Smith
  • Dan G. Vance
  • Billy Howard

Elk Park


  • John Boone

Elk Park Town Council (Five seats open)

  • Tommy Norman
  • Daniel Boone
  • Michael Smith
  • Tony Eller
  • Joel Whitley

Grandfather Village


  • Robert V. Donovan

Town Council (Two seats open)

  • Andre Tennille Jr.
  • David G. Jones



  • Valerie Calloway Jaynes

Town Council (Three seats open)

  • Stanley Hollified
  • David P. Calvert
  • Thomas Jackson
  • Roxanna Roberson

Sugar Mountain

Town Council (Two seats open)

  • Scott Brown
  • David P. Ammann