1000 x 90

Watauga Sheriff Hagaman Wins Third Consecutive Term, Defeats Randy Townsend With Nearly 57 Percent of Vote

Updated screenshot from the State Board of Elections
Updated screenshot from the State Board of Elections


Editor’s Note: On Wednesday morning after the story below was published, Watauga County Elections Director Jane Ann Hodges announced that the Cove Creek precinct was “double counted” on Election Day. This changed the final count of races on Watauga ballots. The final outcome, however, of the sheriff’s race didn’t change. Incumbent Len Hagaman won decisively. 

The above screenshot is the accurate result. 

By Jesse Wood

Nov. 4, 2014. In the 2014 general election, incumbent Watauga County Sheriff Len Hagaman defeated current chief probation/parole officer with the county, Randy Townsend.

Watauga County Sheriff Len Hagaman
Watauga County Sheriff Len Hagaman

Although Hagaman has always contended that he doesn’t see the sheriff as a partisan office, Hagaman, who is on his way to a third consecutive term, was of the few bright spots on Tuesday for local Democrats – or state Democrats for that matter.

Hagaman received 9,822 votes (56.69 percent), while Townsend received 7,503 (43.31 percent) of the votes.

In a text message on Tuesday night, Hagaman wrote that he was “so very pleased and truly humbled with [the] results.”

“I am equally glad that we will be able to continue to serve our citizens and looking forward in implementing new thoughts and goals. As in past elections, I learned from our citizens about positive suggestions, ideas and directions that we need to explore and evaluate for possible implementation,” Hagman said.

“From day of filing, I can honestly say, without hesitation, or reservation, that Randy (Townsend) has been a true gentleman, and we will continue, as we have done throughout this campaign, to work hand in glove under his leadership in – and with – the office of probation and parole,” Hagaman said.

For more election coverage, click to https://www.hcpress.com/politics/2014-elections.