1000 x 90

State BOE Releases Sample Election Ballots, See Avery’s

By Jesse Wood

Sept. 18, 2014. State Board of Elections has released the ballots for counties across the state for the General Election on Nov. 4. See Avery County’s ballot below.

With no Democratic challengers for the local races for sheriff, district attorney and board of commissioners, the voters of Avery County will likely be excited to go to the polls and circle a candidate from the Thom Tillis-Kay Hagan race for N.C Senate; Mark Meadows-Tom Hill race for U.S. House; Dan Soucek- Jim Sponenberg for N.C. Senate; and Josh Dobson and J.R. Edwards for N.C. House.

Oct. 10 is the deadline to register to vote.

Avery County has one early voting site. It’s located at the Avery County Board of Elections office at 200 Montezuma St. in Newland.

Early Voting Times  

  • Thursday and Friday, Oct. 23 and Oct. 24 – 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 25 – 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Monday to Wednesday, Oct. 27 to 29 – 8 to 5 p.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 30 – 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 31 – 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Saturday, Nov. 1 – 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.


Avery County Ballot