1000 x 90

State Board of Elections Announces New Appointments to Local Elections Boards Across High Country, NC

By Jesse Wood

June 26, 2013. Yesterday, the N.C. State Board of Elections announced the new appointments to local elections boards across the state. The new members will be sworn in on July 16.

Because this is the first time in two decades that Republicans have controlled the state governorship, local boards have shifted to the right with a Republican majority.

Below are the new board members for Watauga, Avery and Ashe counties.

Watauga County Board of Elections

  • Republican: Bill Aceto
  • Republican: James Hastings
  • Democrat: Kathleen Campbell

Avery County Board of Elections

  • Republican: Gerald Johnson
  • Republican: James Perry
  • Democrat: John Canupp

Ashe County Board of Elections

  • Republican Jerry Powers
  • Republican: Robert McCleran
  • Democrat: Chris Avidson