1000 x 90

‘Some’ Conservatives To File For Boone Races Before Noon Deadline Tomorrow, Blowing Rock Mayor, Town Council Races Contested, Beech Town Council Contested

By Jesse Wood

July 18, 2013. According to the Watauga County Board of Elections office, three people filed their candidacy for the upcoming municipal elections as of 2:30 p.m. on Thursday. 

Dan Phillips, who is currently a town council member with two more years of his term left, filed his candidacy for mayor of Blowing Rock, so that means Watauga County has another contested race with incumbent Mayor J.B. Lawrence already filing for re-election. 

Also, Laurin Carter filed for Blowing Rock Town Council Thursday. This – along with Phillips running for mayor – means that five people are vying for four spots on the Blowing Rock Town Council. 

Incumbent Cindy Keller filed for Beech Mountain Town Council. Her filing also leaves four candidates running for three seats on the Beech Mountain Town Council. 

Only several more hours exist for candidates to file for the upcoming municipal elections with filings ending at noon on Friday. 

Currently, the Boone races are uncontested. Andy Ball is the only candidate, so far, to have filed for mayor, and currently three people are running for three seats on the Boone Town Council.

That will likely change soon, though. 

On Thursday afternoon, Watauga County Republican Party Chair Anne-Marie Yates said “some” conservatives will be filing for the Boone races by the Friday deadline. However, she wouldn’t go into details.

“That’s all I can say,” Yates said.

To see what’s seats are up for election in Watauga municipalities, click here


 Town of Boone

July 5, 2013  Filings: 

  • Andy Ball – Mayor
  • Rennie Brantz – Town Council
  • Frank (Quint) David – Town Council
  • Jennifer Pena – Town Council

Town of Blowing Rock

July 5, 2013  Filings: 

  • Doug Matheson – Town Council
  • Ray Pickett – Town Council
  • Sue Sweeting – Town Council 

July  9, 2013 Filings: 

  • J. B. Lawrence –  Mayor

July 16, 2013 Filings: 

  • Tommy Klutz – Town Council 

July 18, 2013 Filings

  • Laurin Carter – Town Council
  • Dan Phillips – Mayor

Town of Seven Devils

July 8, 2013 Filings: 

  • David Hooper – Town Council
  • Kay Ehlinger – Town Council
  • David Ehmig – Town Council

Town of Beech Mountain

July 15, 2013 Filings: 

  • Edward (Eddie) Plante – Town Council

July 16, 2013 Filings

  • Paul Piquet – Town Council 
  • Rick Miller – Town Council

July 18, 2013 Filings

  • Cynthia Keller – Town Council