1000 x 90

See 2015 Sample Ballots for Avery Municipalities, Contested Races, Beer/Wine

To Beech Mountain’s race, click here for a list of the Watauga races. Beech Mountain, like Seven Devils, straddles the county line with Avery.

By Jesse Wood

Below are the sample ballots for all the municipalities in Avery County for the 2015 elections.

Unlike the other municipalities which only feature candidates on the ballot, Newland is unique this election cycle because of the referendum on beer and wine wine sales, a controversial topic that has divided Christians. Newland residents barely approved the sell of beer and wine in restaurants and stores in 2009. Now it’s back on the ballot.

While Avery County is overwhelmingly conservative, there are still plenty of choices for registered voters to choose from. In some cases, there is double or almost double candidates to spots.

For example, six candidates for Newland Town Council are vying for three open seats, four candidates for Seven Devils Town Council are vying for three open seats, nine potential Elk Park alderman are running for five seats and eight candidates are running for three Beech Mountain Town Council.

But unless major write-in campaigns are mounted the last few weeks, the winners are pretty much set in stone in the towns of Crossnore, Sugar Mountain, Grandfather Village and Banner Elk, all of which don’t feature contested races on their respective ballots.

Early voting starts on Thursday, Oct. 22 and runs through 1 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 31. See exact times below:

Thursday, Oct. 22 – Friday, Oct. 23, 8:00a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 26 – Friday, Oct. 30, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p. m.

Saturday, Oct. 31, 8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

For more information, contact the Avery County Board of Elections at 828-733-8282.

newland sample 15 crossnore sample 15 Sugar mt sample 15 Seven Devils sample 15 Grandfather sample 15 Elk Park Sample 15 Beech mt sample 15 Banner Elk Sample 15