1000 x 90

Rep. Jordan Among State Lawmakers Recognized as 2013 MADD Legislative Champions

Nov. 19, 2013. Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) today announced its “2013 Legislative Champions” within state legislatures for their contribution to eliminate drunk driving. The introduction of legislation by these lawmakers to advance MADD’s mission and expand the use of ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers has been key in saving lives on the nation’s roads. Also, MADD recognized lawmakers who authored legislation promoting victim rights, drunk driving child endangerment legislation, and proposals supporting high visibility law enforcement activities such as sobriety checkpoints or no refusals, all key components in our quest to end this violent crime.  


“MADD graciously thanks these lawmakers who authored legislation improving their state’s drunk driving laws,” said MADD National President Jan Withers. “MADD is thankful for their work on legislation requiring ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers or legalizing the option of sobriety checkpoints—countermeasures proven to save lives and prevent injuries.”

A major portion of MADD’s advocacy efforts in states originates from itsCampaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving® that was launched in 2006. Two key components of the Campaign call for laws requiring ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers and support for high-visibility law enforcement programs to catch drunk drivers on our roads and to discourage others from getting behind the wheel.  Prior to the Campaign, only one state (New Mexico), required ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers. Today, 20 states require or highly incentivize the use of ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers. Also through MADD’s advocacy work in 2013, drunk driving laws were strengthened on other fronts to improve public health and save lives.

In total, MADD acknowledged 89 lawmakers for their tireless work and commitment to advancing MADD’s mission. 

2013 MADD Legislative Champions

  • Alabama: Representative Allen Farley, Senator Bill Holtzclaw 
  • Arizona: Representative Karen Fann
  • Arkansas: Representative Jeremy Gillam, Senator Jon Woods, Senator Jeremy Hutchinson
  • Connecticut: Representative Themis Klarides, Representative Gerald Fox III, Representative Richard Smith, Representative Al Adinolfi, Senator Leonard Fasano
  • Colorado: Representative Dave Young, Senator Steve King, Representative Rhonda Fields, Representative Bob Gardner, Representative Libby Szabo        
  • Delaware: Senator David McBride, Representative Helene Keeley, Representative Stephen Smyk 
  • Florida: Senator Dorothy Hukill, Representative Dennis Baxley 
  • Georgia: Senator Donzella James, Representative Tom Rice 
  • Illinois: Senator John Cullerton, Senator Kwame Raoul
  • Indiana: Representative Cindy Kirchhofer 
  • Iowa:  Representative Chip Baltimore 
  • Kansas:  Senator Jeff King, Representative John Rubin
  • Kentucky:  Representative Dennis Keene, Representative Julie Adams 
  • Louisiana: Senator Jonathan Perry
  • Maine: Representative Bob Nutting 
  • Maryland: Delegate Sam Arora 
  • Massachusetts: Senator Robert Hedlund
  • Michigan: Representative Andrea LaFontaine, Representative Klint Kesto
  • Mississippi: Speaker Philip Gunn, Representative Andy Gipson, Representative Kevin Horan, Senator  Hillman Terome Frazier, Senator Chris McDaniel
  • Missouri: Representative Caleb Jones 
  • Montana: Senator Sue Malek 
  • Nebraska: Senator Les Seiler
  • New Hampshire: Representative Stephen Shurtleff
  • New Jersey: Senator Nicholas Scutari, Assemblywoman Linda Stender 
  • New Mexico: Speaker W. Ken Martinez, Representative Liz Thomson, Representative Stephanie Garcia Richard, Representative Tim Lewis
  • New York: Senator Chuck Fuschillo, Senator Martin Dilan, Assemblyman Harvey Weisenberg, Speaker Sheldon Silver
  • North Carolina: Representative John Faircloth, Representative Jonathan Jordan, Representative Darren Jackson, Senator Bill Rabon, Senator Jim Davis, Senator Tom Apodaca
  • North Dakota: Representative Ed Gruchalla, Senator Tim Mathern 
  • Oregon: Representative Jim Thompson, Senator Rod Monroe 
  • Pennsylvania: Senator John Rafferty, Representative Anthony M. DeLuca
  • South Carolina: Senator Joel Lourie, Senator Brad Hutto, Senator Larry Martin, Representative Eddie Tallon, Representative Todd Atwater, Representative Rick Quinn, Representative L. Kit Spires   
  • Tennessee: Representative Tony Shipley, Senator Mae Beavers
  • Texas: Senator Wendy Davis, Representative Bill Callegari 
  • Virginia: Senator Donald McEachin, Honorable Sal Iaquinto
  • Vermont: Honorable Margaret Cheney, Senator Eldred French
  • Washington: Representative Roger Goodman, Senator Mike Padden
  • Wisconsin: Representative Jim Ott , Senator Alberta Darling, Representative André Jacque, Representative Jon Richards

For more detailed information on 2013 MADD Legislative Champions, please visit MADD’s blog located at: www.madd.org/blog

About Mothers Against Drunk Driving
Founded by a mother whose daughter was killed by a drunk driver, Mothers Against Drunk Driving® (MADD) is the nation’s largest nonprofit working to protect families from drunk driving and underage drinking. With the help of those who want a safer future, MADD’s Campaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving® will end this danger on America’s roads. PowerTalk 21® is the national day for parents to talk with their kids about alcohol, using the proven strategies of Power of Parents® to reduce the risk of underage drinking. And as one of the largest victim services organizations in the U.S., MADD also supports drunk and drugged driving victims and survivors at no charge, serving one person every 8.6 minutes through local MADD victim advocates and at 1-877-MADD-HELP. Learn more at www.madd.org or by calling 1-877-ASK-MADD.