1000 x 90

Registration Deadline To Vote in May Primary is Friday, Primary To Call Some of the Races in Avery, Watauga

By Jesse Wood

April 7, 2014. While the May primary is less than one-month away, the deadline to register to vote in the upcoming primary is less than a week away.

Friday, April 11, at 5 p.m. is the deadline to register.

To be eligible to vote in the county in which you are registering:

  • You must be a U.S. citizen
  • You must be 18 years of age by the date of the next general election
  • You must have resided in the county for at least 30 days
  • You must not be currently serving a felony sentence

Click here for a registration form or visit the local elections office. The form may be turned in to the local elections’ office via fax, email or in person.

The Watauga County Board of Elections office is located in the Watauga County Courthouse in downtown Boone and can be reached at 828-265-8061. The Avery County Board of Elections office is located in the Avery County Courthouse in downtown Newland and can be reached at 828-733-8282.

Primary To Call Some Races

Even though, the general election is months away, the primary narrows down the field and, in some races this year, calls the entire race.

This is the case for numerous races in Avery County, where the vast majority of candidates and constituents are Republican. That includes the races for sheriff and commissioners. The same can be said for the race for District Attorney in the 24 Prosecutorial District, which spans Avery and Watauga. All three candidates running for District Attorney – current Assistant District Attorney Britt Springer, Nathan Miller and Seth Banks – are all registered Republican, so the Democrats won’t have a say in that race.

Eight people are running for Watauga County Board of Education, which is officially a non-partisan race and is on all the ballots. All registered voters have the opportunity to narrow down the school board field to six candidates for the general election in November. If you are unaffiliated or Libertarian, you can still take part in the primary by narrowing down the school board field and voting for N.C. Supreme Court Associate Justice. Libertarians also have two candidates vying for a spot on the general election ballot for a chance at U.S. Sen. Kay Hagan’s seat.

As for Watauga County Board of Commissioners, Republicans will have a chance to narrow down candidates in two of the county commissioner districts because multiple Republicans ran in District 3 (Karen Greene Lerch and Matt Klutz) and District 5 (Allen Trivette and Jimmy Hodges).

See all four sample ballots – Republican, Democrats, Libertarians and Nonpartisan – for Avery and Watauga counties and important primary dates for the state. 



Friday, April 11—Registration Ends for Primary Election – 5:00 pm
Thursday, April 24—One–Stop Early Voting Begins for Primary
Tuesday, April 29—Last Day to Request a Mail–Out Absentee Ballot – 5:00 pm

Saturday, May 3—One–Stop Early Voting Ends – 1:00 pm
Monday, May 6—Last Day to Return Voted Mail–Out Absentee Ballots – 5:00 pm
Tuesday, May 6—Primary Election Day – Polls open from 6:30 am – 7:30 pm
Tuesday, May 13—County Canvass for Primary Election – 11:00 am










2014sample_non 2




DEM Avery 2



GOP Avery 2


LIB AVery 2


non avery 3