1000 x 90

Only 64 Votes in Second Primary Election So Far During Early Voting; Election Day is July 17

By Paul T. Choate

2012 Election graphicJuly 5, 2012. On Thursday, June 28, early voting opened for the second primary election in Watauga County. To date, 64 people have submitted early votes either via mail or in person.

Early voting will remain open until Saturday, July 14, at 1 p.m. Unless votes are submitted by mail, the only other way to vote early is to show up in person at the Watauga County Courthouse.

After early voting concludes, the final opportunity to vote will be on election day, Tuesday, July 17. 

The low voter turnout is not surprising to Jane Ann Hodges, director of the Watauga County Board of Elections.

“[The turnout is] going to be very, very low,” said Hodges. “I think people just normally do not get involved with second primaries. That’s been the history of elections in North Carolina.”

Who is on the ballots?

Only one race is featured on the Democratic second primary ballot. Marlowe Foster, of Raleigh, is running against John C. Brooks, also of Raleigh, for the Democratic nomination for N.C. Commissioner of Labor.

On the Republican second primary ballot there will be four races. Dan Forest is running against Tony Gurley, both of Raleigh, for the Republican nomination for N.C. Lieutenant Gov. Richard Morgan, of Pinehurst, is trying to get the Republican nod for N.C. Commissioner of Insurance against Mike Causey, of Greensboro. For the N.C. Secretary of State Republican nomination, Kenn Gardner, of Raleigh, is running against Ed Goodwin, of Edenton. Lastly, for the Republican nomination for N.C. Superintendent of Public Instruction, John Tedesco, of Gardner, is facing Richard Alexander, of Monroe.

For more information, visit the Watauga County Board of Elections website or call 828-265-8061.

Democratic second primary sample ballot


Republican second primary sample ballot