1000 x 90

NCGOP 2016 State Convention Recap

The North Carolina Republican Party (NCGOP) held its annual state convention in Greensboro, North Carolina over the weekend. Delegates to the state convention conducted important business affecting this year’s election cycle and our Party going forward.

With more than 1,000 delegates in attendance, the Party saw Senator Richard Burr and Governor Pat McCrory officially accept their nominations for re-election. NCGOP also welcomed Senator Jeff Sessions who spoke on behalf of our presumptive nominee, Donald Trump.

Other special guests included Representative Marsha Blackburn, Pete Hegseth, NC Spin, Steve Moore, Ralph Reid and the Benham Brothers.

RNC National Committeeman and Committeewoman Election

North Carolina State House Representative Mark Brody was elected National Committeeman and Dr. Ada Fisher was re-elected as National Committeewoman to the Republican National Committee. Brody and Fisher will begin service of their four year terms following the Republican National Convention in July. The RNC National Committeeman and Committeewoman are members of the RNC, serving in a body that aids the general management of the Party and acting as a liaison between the RNC and state.

National Delegate Selection

The full slate of at-large delegates and alternate delegates to the Republican National Convention passed on Saturday. These delegates and alternates, with those selected at congressional district conventions, will make up the sixth largest delegation in the country. North Carolina will be well represented in Cleveland with a strong group of delegates that are passionate about the Republican Party.

Below is North Carolina’s delegate allocation based on primary results. This is how delegates will vote based on North Carolina law and RNC rules:

Donald Trump – 29

Ted Cruz – 27

John Kasich – 9

Marco Rubio – 4

Ben Carson – 1

Click here for the full list of at-large delegates and alternate delegates. 

At-Large Delegate Preference Breakdown: 

Donald Trump – 21

Ted Cruz – 5

John Kasich – 2

Rubio – 1

Carson – 1

Click here for the full list of congressional district delegates and alternate delegates. 

Congressional District Delegate Preference Breakdown:

Cruz – 33

Rubio – 3

Trump – 3

2016 Elector Selection  

The NCGOP is responsible for electing 15 electors during Presidential election years to serve as part of the electoral college. Two of those electors were chosen at state convention, while the remaining 13 electors are selected by congressional districts. Lee Greene and David Smudski were elected by the body to serve as electors.