1000 x 90

Election Day Tuesday: Polls Open 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.; See Where To Vote, Research Candidates & Preview Ballots

By Jesse Wood

Nov. 3, 2014. If you missed out on the last day of early voting during the snowstorm on Saturday, you have one more chance to vote on Election Day this Tuesday, Nov. 4.

Polls open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. So depending on your work schedule, you should be able to make it to the polls before work, during lunch or after work.

Check out the listing of precincts to decide where you vote on Tuesday. If you aren’t sure of your precinct, click here to the State Board of Elections’ website and type in your name. The application on the SBOE website will list your precinct number and voting location, which includes a Google Maps link.

Check out sample ballots and look up candidate info if you need more information about candidates. See blank sample ballots for Watauga County here and Avery County here.

If you want to vote with your respective parties, click here for filled-in, printable ballots from the Watauga County Republican Party or Watauga County Democratic Party. With the majority of Avery County voters being Republican, activity during the general election for local elections has been minimal because most of the local races were decided during the May Primary.

For more information about the 2014 election, click here for candidate info, stories, videos, pictures and more information about voting on Tuesday. Also check out the North Carolina Voter Guide website for candidate statements and bio.

And following the closure of the polls, voting totals should begin rolling in by 8 p.m. and end results are expected – based on elections in the past – by about 8:30 to 9 p.m. Click to HCPress.com for up-to-date results.

For more information about voting in Watauga County, click to the Watauga County Board of Elections website or call 828-265-8061.

For more information about voting in Avery County, click to the Avery County Board of Elections website or call 828-733-8282

Early Voting


There are 19 precincts in Avery County. To find your precinct, click here.

(01) Altamont
(02) Banner Elk
(03) Beech Mountain
(04) Cary’s Flat
(05) Cranberry
(06) Elk Park
(07) Frank
(08) Heaton
(09) Hughes
(10) Ingalls
(11) Linville
(12) Minneapolis
(13) Montezuma
(14) Newland 1
(15) Newland 2
(16) Pineola
(17) Plumtree
(18) Pyatte
(19) Roaring Creek