1000 x 90

Candidate Filings for the 2017 Municipal Elections Open on Friday, July 7, End July 21

Candidates seeking to file for the 2017 municipal elections will file their notice of candidacy at the Watauga County Board of Elections, 842 West King Street, starting at 12:00 noon on Friday July 7, 2017 and ending at 12:00 noon on Friday July 21, pursuant to NC GS 163-294.2(c).

The following seats are up for election this year: Beech Mountain Town Council; Blowing Rock Mayor; Blowing Rock Town Council; Boone Mayor; Boone Town Council; and Seven Devils Town Council.

The filing fee is $5. Please call the Watauga County Board of Elections at 265-8061 if you have any questions.

In Avery County, municipal elections will be held for Banner Elk, Crossnore, Elk Park, Grandfather Village, Newland and Sugar Mountain. For more information, call Avery County Board of Elections at 828-733-8282.