1000 x 90

Candidate Filing for 2014 Elections Begins on Monday, Feb. 10 and Ends on Friday, Feb. 28

By Jesse Wood

Jan. 29, 2014. With only two weeks until candidate filing begins on Feb. 10, more candidates are announcing their intention to run for office in the 2014 elections to build momentum for their campaign, and the local elections office is busy preparing for filing period just around the corner. 

“Candidate filing is always exciting. Hopefully, we will have a set of new candidates that both parties can be proud of. We are excited, we are ready for them,” Watauga County Elections Director Jane Ann Hodges said. 

On Wednesday, Dr. Tiffany Christian announced her intention to file for office when candidate filing begins. Christian is campaigning for the school board.

Two weeks ago, U.S. Rep. Virginia Foxx announced that she would run for re-election, and in Decemember, Sue Counts, a member of the local Democratic Women’s Club, announced that she was campaigning for State Rep. Jonathan Jordan’s seat.

In late 2013, chair of the Watauga County Board of Commissioners Nathan Miller announced his intention to run for District Attorney in the 24th District, and so did current Seth Banks of Burnsville and Assistant District Attorney Britt Springer, who has the endorsement of current DA Jerry Wilson. Also, Randy Townsend announced that he planned to campaign against Sheriff Len Hagaman in the upcoming election.

While others have likely announced their intention to run, the official list won’t be known until filing ends at noon on Feb. 28. After the primary election narrows party candidates down in May, the general election will take place in November. See official notice of primary election here

Important Dates for 2014 Election

Monday, Feb. 10—Candidate Filing Period Begins–12:00 noon
Friday, Feb. 28—Candidate Filing Period Ends – 12:00 noon

Monday, March 17—Mail–Out Absentee Voting Begins 

Friday, April 11—Registration Ends for Primary Election – 5:00 pm
Tuesday, April 15—Board Absentee Meeting – 5:00 pm
Friday, April 18—Good Friday Holiday – office closed
Tuesday, April 22—Board Absentee Meeting – 5:00 pm 
Thursday, April 24—One–Stop Early Voting Begins for Primary
Tuesday, April 29—Board Absentee Meeting – 5:00 pm
Tuesday, April 29—Last Day to Request a Mail–Out Absentee Ballot – 5:00 pm


Saturday, May 3—One–Stop Early Voting Ends – 1:00 pm
Monday, May 5—Board Absentee Meeting – 5:00 pm
Monday, May 6—Last Day to Return Voted Mail–Out Absentee Ballots – 5:00 pm
Tuesday, May 6—Primary Election Day – Polls open from 6:30 am – 7:30 pm
Tuesday, May 6—Board Meeting – Counting of Absentee Ballots – 5:00 pm
Tuesday, May 13—County Canvass for Primary Election – 11:00 am 

Friday, October 10—Registration Ends for General Election – 5:00 pm
Thursday, October 23—One–Stop Early Voting Begins for General Election

Saturday, November 1—One–Stop Early Voting Ends for General Election
Tuesday, November 4—General Election Day – Polls open from 6:30 am – 7:30 pm
Friday, November 14—County Canvass for General Election – 11:00 am
Tuesday, November 25—State Canvass for General Election – 11:00 am  

Contests for the 2014 elections for Watauga County:

US Senate – District 5 (Kay Hagan)

US House of Representatives – District 5 (Virginia Foxx)

NC Senate – 45th District (Dan Soucek)

NC House of Representatives – 93rd District (Jonathan Jordan)

District Attorney – District 24 (DA Jerry Wilson is not running for re-election)

Watauga County Commissioners:

  • District 5 – (Miller)
  • District 4 – (Blust)
  • District 3 – (Kennedy)

Clerk of Superior Court (Diane Deal)

Sheriff (Len Hagaman)

Supreme Court Chief Justice (Parker)

Supreme Court Associate Justices (Hudson, Martin and Beasley)

Court of Appeals Judges (Hunter, Stroud and Davis)

District Court Judge – District 24 (Hughes)

Board of Education (Warren, Hodges and Henries)