1000 x 90

Candidate Filing for 2013 Municipal Elections in Watauga Begins July 5, What Seats Are Up For Election?

By Jesse Wood

June 26, 2013. Candidate filing for the 2013 municipal elections in Boone, Blowing Rock, Beech Mountain and Seven Devils is less than two weeks away. The filing period lasts two weeks from July 5 to 19.

Seats up for election in Boone:

  • Mayor Loretta Clawson, who is not running
  • Mayor Pro-Tem Jamie Leigh
  • Council Member Rennie Brantz
  • Council Member Allan Scherlen 

Seats up for election in Beech Mountain:

  • Council Member Cindy Keller
  • Council Member Paul Piquet
  • Council Member Rick Miller

Seats up for election in Blowing Rock: 

  • Mayor J.B. Lawrence
  • Council Member Tommy Klutz
  • Council Member Doug Matheson 
  • Council Member Jim Steele

Seats up for election in Seven Devils

  • Council Member David Ehmig
  • Council Member Kay Ehlinger
  • Council Member David Hooper

Look below for all the dates for the 2013 election season in Watauga County. 

From the Watauga County Board of Elections website: 

Municipal Elections for Towns of Beech Mountain, Blowing Rock, Boone, and Seven Devils

Friday, July 5—Candidate Filing begins at 12:00 noon.
Friday, July 19—Candidate Filing ends at 12:00 noon.

Friday, October 4—Absentee voting by mail begins.
Friday, October 11—Deadline to register to vote in the November 5th Municipal Elections.
Thursday, October 17—Early voting begins for November 5th Municipal Elections.
Tuesday, October 29—Deadline to request an absentee ballot for November 5th Municipal Elections,  5:00 p.m.

Saturday, November 2—Early voting ends for November 5th Municipal Elections.
Monday, November 4—Deadline to return voted absentee ballots for 5th Municipal Elections, 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, November 5—Municipal Elections, 6:30 a.m. — 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, November 12—Canvass for Municipal Elections, 11:00 a.m.