1000 x 90

Candidate Filing Ends, See Who’s Running for Watauga Municipal Seats in 2015 Election

watauga county 2015 elections

By Jesse Wood

Candidate filing for the 2015 municipal elections ended at noon on Friday, July 17.

Every single race in the Watauga County will be contested. Six people are running for four seats on the Boone Town Council, while eight people are running for three seats on the Beech Mountain Town Council.

The Blowing Rock mayoral race should be intriguing, considering that Charlie Sellers, owner of The Blowing Rock attraction, rode shotgun with Gov. Pat McCrory to lead off the Blowing Rock Fourth of July parade. Incumbent Mayor J.B. Lawrence’s car was behind McCrory’s.

Candidates for town council in Blowing Rock and Seven Devils had the usual slate of candidates, and in both of those races, one person will be left out.

Seats up for election: 

According to Watauga County Elections Director Matt Snyder’s records, the following seats are up for election:

Town of Boone:

Town Council

  • Lynne Mason
  • Frank (Quint) David
  • Fred Hay
  • Loretta Clawson (Jennifer Pena’s seat)

Town of Blowing Rock:


  • J.B. Lawrence

Town Council

  • Dan Phillips
  • Albert Yount

Town of Beech Mountain

  • Rick Owen
  • Cindy Keller
  • Alan Holcombe

Town of Seven Devils

  • Larry Fontaine
  • David Ehmig
  • Brad Lambert

Watauga County Board of Elections 2015 Calendar


  • Friday, October 2—Absentee Voting by Mail Begins
  • Friday, October 9—Deadline to Register to Vote  – 5:00 pm
  • Thursday, October 22—One-Stop Early Voting Begins
  • Tuesday, October 27—Deadline to Request a Mail–Out Absentee Ballot – 5:00 pm
  • Saturday, October 31—One-Stop Early Voting Ends – 1:00 pm


  • Tuesday, November 3—Municipal Election Day
  • Tuesday, November 3—Deadline for Return of Voted Absentee Ballots – 5:00 pm
  • Tuesday, November 10—Canvass – 11:00 am