1000 x 90

Update: More File, Candidate Filing Continues as Contests Pile Up in Avery and Watauga in Last Week

Editor’s Note: The list below has been updated as of the morning of Thursday Feb. 27.  

By Jesse Wood

Feb. 20, 2014. Candidate filing for the 2014 elections continues, albeit at a slower pace during the second week. Both the elections offices of Watauga County and Avery County have only seen two candidates file this week as of Thursday morning. But with more than a week left, plenty of time exists for more candidates to file by Friday, Feb. 28 at noon.

Turnbow filing at the Watauga County Board of Election.
Turnbow filing at the Watauga County Board of Election.

The field, so far, provides contests during the May primary and for the general election in November. Phillip Doyle, a Republican, has challenged incumbent U.S. Rep. Virginia Foxx, also a Republican, for a primary delight. Meanwhile, each of the Watauga County Board of Commissioners seats open, three in total, are contested – plus many more. Check out the races below and see who has filed as of Thursday morning.

To narrow down the field, the primary election will be held on May 6 with the November election taking place on Nov. 4. See all the important dates here.

Information comes from the county offices as well as the State Board of Elections.  

As of 1 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 27:

Candidates Representing Avery, Watauga Counties & Beyond

U.S. Senate (Kay Hagan’s Seat)

  • Mark Harris (R)
  • Ted Alexander (R)
  • Heather Grant (R)
  • Greg Brannon (R)
  • Jim Snyder (R)
  • Kay Hagan (D) (I)
  • Will Stewart (D)
  • Thom Tillis (R)
  • Edward Kryn (R)
  • Sean Haugh (L)
  • Tim D’Annunzio (L)

District Attorney 24 (Jerry Wilson’s seat)

  • Nathan Miller (R)
  • Britt Springer (R)
  • Seth Banks (R)

N.C. Senate District 45 (Soucek’s Seat)

  • Josh Brannon (D)
  • Dan Soucek (R)
  • Jim Sponenberg (D)


U.S. House District 5

  • Virginia Foxx (R) (I)
  • Philip Doyle (R)
  • Gardenia Henley
  • Michael W. Holleman

N.C. House District 93 (Jonathan Jordan’s seat)

  • Sue Counts (D)
  • Jonathan Jordan (R) (I)

Watauga County Board of Commissioners (Three seats open)

District 3:

  • Karen Lerch (R)
  • Billy Kennedy (D) (I)

District 4:

  • Larry Turnbrow (D)
  • David Blust (R) (I)

District 5:

  • Allen Trivette (R)
  • Barbara Kinsey (D)

Clerk of Court

  • Diane Deal (D) (I)


  • Randy Townsend (R)
  • Len Hagaman (D) (I)

Board of Education (Three seats open)

  • Ron Holste
  • Tiffany Christian
  • Ron Henries (I)
  • Jay Fenwick
  • Adam L. Trivette
  • Jason Cornett
  • Kurt Michael


Avery County Commissioner

  • Clayton Harpold (R)
  • John Millan (R)
  • Kevin Benfield (R)
  • Faith (Faye) Lacey (R)
  • Powell Glidewell (R)

Avery County Board of Education

  • Steve Smith (I)


  • Anthony Pollygus (R)
  • Reo Griffith (R)
  • Kevin Frye (R) (I)

Clerk of Court

  • Lisa Daniels (I)

N.C. House District 85

  • Josh Dobson (R)

U.S. House District 11

  • Keith Ruehl (D)
  • Mark Meadows (R) (I)
  • Tom Hill (D)