1000 x 90

Candidacy Filing for Avery County’s 2013 Municipal Elections Relatively Quiet Friday With One Filing

By Jesse Wood

July 5, 2013. While the Watauga County Board of Elections’ office was packed with supporters of liberal candidates filing for seats with the Town of Boone and Blowing Rock during the first candidate-filing day for 2013 municipal elections, the Avery County Board of Elections’ office was relatively quiet.

Avery Elections Director Sheila Ollis said only one candidate filed to run for election on Friday. She said Scott Brown filed to run for one of two seats to be open on Sugar Mountain Town Council come November.

Scott Brown is a registered Republican who resides at Sugar Top Drive, according to a database of voters at the State Board of Elections’ website.

Ollis noted that the Fourth of July holidays likely slowed down the pace of election filings in Avery on Friday.

“[Soon] things will heat up and candidates will start coming in with groups,” Ollis said.

Here are a few of the other seats up for election in Avery County:

Seats up for election in Banner Elk:

  • Mayor Brenda Lyerly
  • Council Member Gail Draughon
  • Council Member Robert Tufts

Seats up for election in Newland:

  • Mayor Valerie Jaynes
  • Council Member David Calvert
  • Council Member Thomas Jackson
  • Council Member Roxanna Roberson

Seats up for election in Sugar Mountain:

  • Council Member Louise Anderson
  • Council Member Bill Schmitt