1000 x 90

App State SGA Hosting Candidate Forum for Boone Mayor, Council Races on Oct. 17

Appalachian State Student Government Association is organizing a municipal election forum featuring candidates for Boone Town Council and Mayor. The forum will be held on Tuesday, Oct. 17 at 6:30 p.m. in the Linville Falls room on the 2nd floor of the Plemmons Student Union.

This is a part of an effort in Student Government to facilitate active student engagement in the local community as well as town meetings. Have a question you’d like to ask the candidates? Submit one anonymously here, and it will be considered for the forum: https://goo.gl/forms/I87rXz7EaczoPiWs2

Within the next few days, we will be uploading candidate introduction videos to our Facebook event

The candidates for Boone Town Council are Jeannine Underdown-Collins, Sam Furgiuele, Quint David, Connie Ulmer, Charlotte Mizelle and Marshall Ashcraft. Incumbent Boone Mayor Rennie Brantz is the only candidate in the mayoral race.

Election Day is Nov. 7. Early voting starts in less than two weeks. Click here for more information about the upcoming election and to see sample ballots of municipalities in Avery and Watauga counties.