1000 x 90

Vast Majority of Early Voters Reside in Newland and Boone, Election Day is Tuesday

By Jesse Wood

In Watauga County and Avery County, residents of Newland and Boone beat folks from other municipalities to the polls during early voting, which ended on Saturday afternoon.

Nearly 90 percent of early voters in Avery County, including absentee ballots received as of Monday afternoon, were from Newland, which has a controversial referendum banning alcohol sales on the ballot. Here is a breakdown of the 256 ballots counted so far:

  • Beech Mountain – 2
  • Crossnore – 1
  • Elk Park – 5
  • Grandfather -4
  • Newland – 228
  • Seven Devils – 4
  • Sugar Mountain – 12

In Watauga County, 588 people early voted at the Watauga County Administration Building in Boone, which was the only early voting site in Watauga. Boone residents accounted for 93 percent of all early votes. Here is the breakdown of those totals:

  • Boone:  544
  • Blowing Rock: 31
  • Beech Mountain: 11
  • Seven Devils: 2

Election Day is tomorrow, and polls in the municipalities will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Both counties also feature a number of uncontested races. In Watauga County, each municipality – Boone, Blowing Rock, Beech Mountain and Seven Devils – features an uncontested race. Meanwhile in Avery County, Newland, Elk Park and Beech Mountain feature contested races.

For more information about where to vote in Watauga, click to the Watauga County Board of Elections website or call 828-265-8061. See sample ballots here.

For more information about where to vote in Avery, contact the Avery County Board of Elections at 828-733-8282 or click here. See sample ballots here.

Click here for info leading up to Election Day in Watauga and Avery counties.