Two-Week Candidate Filing Period for Municipal Elections Begins on Friday, What Seats Are Available?

Published Wednesday, July 3, 2013 at 2:17 pm

2013 ElectionsBy Jesse Wood

July 3, 2013. By the time Fourth of July festivities have finished, the candidate filing period for municipal elections in North Carolina begins. 

The candidate filing period lasts two weeks, beginning at noon on Friday, July 5, and ending at the same time on Friday, July 19.

As for Watauga County, click here to see what seats are open on the town councils of Blowing Rock, Beech Mountain, Seven Devils and Boone. 

As for Avery County, click here to see what seats are open on the town councils of Newland, Sugar Mountain and Banner Elk.

Below is the 2013 elections calendar posted on the Watauga County Board of Elections’ website. 

July

Friday, July 5—Candidate Filing begins at 12:00 noon.
Friday, July 19—Candidate Filing ends at 12:00 noon.


October
Friday, October 4—Absentee voting by mail begins.
Friday, October 11—Deadline to register to vote in the November 5th Municipal Elections.
Thursday, October 17—Early voting begins for November 5th Municipal Elections.
Tuesday, October 29—Deadline to request an absentee ballot for November 5th Municipal Elections,  5:00 p.m.


November
Saturday, November 2—Early voting ends for November 5th Municipal Elections.
Monday, November 4—Deadline to return voted absentee ballots for 5th Municipal Elections, 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, November 5—Municipal Elections, 6:30 a.m. — 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, November 12—Canvass for Municipal Elections, 11:00 a.m.

Comments

comments

Privacy Policy | Rights & Permissions | Discussion Guidelines

Website Management by Outer Banks Media