SBOE Approves of Majority’s Watauga County Early Voting Plan, Only Near Courthouse

Published Monday, September 21, 2015 at 2:43 pm

By Jesse Wood

On Friday, the State Board of Elections approved Watauga County Board of Election’s majority plan for early voting in the county for the 2015 municipal elections, according to Watauga County Elections Director Matthew Snyder.

In August, the Watauga County Board of Elections voted 2-1 to adopt an early-voting plan featuring one polling place inside the Watauga County Administration Building on King Street, next to the courthouse.

Local Republicans Luke Eggers and Bill Aceto voted for the plan, while Democrat Stella Anderson opposed a plan that didn’t feature a one-stop site on the campus of Appalachian State University.

Eggers and Aceto voted for the plan despite the Boone Town Council requesting a site on the college campus and the Town of Blowing Rock requesting a site in its downtown.

One-stop voting will be held in the first floor of the Watauga County Administration Building, located at 814 West King Street, where the commissioners regularly meet.

Early voting dates and times are as follows:

Thursday, Oct. 22 – Friday, Oct. 23, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 26 – Friday, Oct. 30, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 31, 8 a.m. – 1 p.m.

For more information, call the elections office at 828-265-8061.

Watauga County Board of Elections 2015 Calendar

Friday, Oct. 2—Absentee Voting by Mail Begins

Friday, Oct. 9—Deadline to Register to Vote  – 5:00 pm

Thursday, Oct. 22—One-Stop Early Voting Begins

Tuesday, Oct 27—Deadline to Request a Mail–Out Absentee Ballot – 5:00 pm

Saturday, Oct. 31—One-Stop Early Voting Ends – 1:00 pm


Tuesday, Nov. 3—Municipal Election Day

Tuesday, Nov. 3—Deadline for Return of Voted Absentee Ballots – 5:00 pm

Tuesday, Nov. 10—Canvass – 11:00 am



Privacy Policy | Rights & Permissions | Discussion Guidelines

Website Management by Outer Banks Media