1000 x 90

Listen to Candidates for Boone Town Council, Mayor Speak at Boone Chamber Forum

By Jesse Wood

All of the candidates in 2015 municipal elections for the Town of Boone pitched their candidacy and spoke on some of the issues facing the town on Monday evening.

The Boone Chamber of Commerce sponsored the forum, which included questions related to the town’s water-intake project, relations between the town and Watauga County, affordable housing and more.

Liberal and current Mayor Pro-Tem Rennie Brantz and his conservative challenger Ryan Hollingsworth are running for mayor. Six candidates are vying for four seats on the Boone Town Council – Loretta Clawson, Jeannine Underdown-Collins, Lynne Mason, Charlotte Mizelle and David Welsh.

Each candidate also gave a closing statement up to two-minutes long. See video of the closing statements above and click here to listen to the entire forum. Also see photos from Monday’s forum below:

Mayoral candidates: current Mayor Pro-Tem Rennie Brantz and Ryan Hollingsworth
Candidates for Boone Town Council: incumbent Loretta Clawason, Jeannine Collins-Underdown, incumbent Lynne Mason, Charlotte Mizelle, David Welsh and Jennifer Teague