Elected Blowing Rock Officials Sworn in at Tuesday’s Town Council Meeting

Published Wednesday, December 9, 2015 at 10:16 am

Outgoing Councilman Dan Phillips sat with the Blowing Rock Town Council at the beginning of Tuesday evening’s meeting before the swearing in of his successor, Jim Steele. Photos by Jesse Wood

By Jesse Wood

Elected members in Blowing Rock were sworn in at the Blowing Rock Town Council meeting on Tuesday evening.

Outgoing Councilman Dan Phillips received a plaque recognizing his service to the town and a handshake from Blowing Rock Mayor J.B. Lawrence before exiting the meeting.

Phillips ran for a consecutive term but lost to Jim Steele, who served prior to Phillips’ term, and incumbent Mayor Pro-Tem Al Yount. Two years ago, during his term on the council, Phillips ran against Mayor J.B. Lawrence in a heated race.

As Lawrence said when shaking Phillips hand on Tuesday evening, “We didn’t always agree but it’s been an honor to serve with you.”

It was a quick ceremony, and Phillips simply said, “Thank you. It’s been a pleasure.”

Blowing Rock Town Clerk Sharon Greene swore in Lawrence, who in turn swore in Yount and Steele.

See photos of last night’s swearing in ceremony below.


Blowing Rock Mayor J.B. Lawrence shakes hands with outgoing Councilman Dan Phillips and hands him an award recognizing his service on the council.


Mayor J.B. Lawrence swears in Albert Yount, who was re-elected to a consecutive term, and Jim Steele (middle) who has served on the council in the past.


Dan Phillips (left) just before he exits the position.


Blowing Rock Town Clerk Sharon Greene swears in Mayor J.B. Lawrence, who was re-elected to a 10th consecutive term.

280 x 540
280 x 540
Privacy Policy | Rights & Permissions | Discussion Guidelines

Website Management by Outer Banks Media