1000 x 90

Watauga Soil and Water Conservation Board To Meet on Wednesday, April 24, at 8 a.m. in Agriculture Center

Watauga_county_NC_sealCompiled by Jesse Wood

April 18, 2013. The Watauga County Soil and Water Conservation District Board will hold its regular board meeting on Wednesday, April 24, at 8 a.m. in the district office at the agricultural building at 971 West King Street.

The public is invited to attend.  

Info About the Board from the Watauga County website

The Watauga Soil And Water Conservation District is a subdivision of state government charged with planning, executing, and promoting sound conservation practices. Its objectives are secured largely through the voluntary cooperation of landowners.

The District administers the N.C. Agricultural Cost Share program to improve water quality and reduce non-point source pollution on agricultural lands. The Natural Resources Conservation Service and other agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, as well as some state and local agencies provide technical assistance.

The county, with limited state financial support, provides funds and office space. The five member board consists of two members appointed by the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission and three members elected to four-year staggered terms on a non-partisan basis.

Regular District Board meetings are on the fourth Wednesday of each month, at 8:00 am in the District Office at 971 West King Street, but are subject to change.

The Current District Board of Supervisors:

Denny Norris, Chair
190 Norris Trail,   Boone, NC 28607


Jim Bryan, Sec./Treas.
576 Bryan Hollow Road,   Boone, NC 28607

Chris Stevens
197-A Knowles Haven Lane, Boone, NC 28607

Al Childers, Vice Chair
PO Box 403, Sugar Grove, NC 28679