1000 x 90

Today’s Email Announcements

Lees-McRae Student Athletes Named to the Conference Carolinas Presidential Honor Roll

166 Lees-McRae College student-athletes landed spots on the Conference Carolinas Presidential Honor Roll for the spring semester the league office announced Wednesday. Leading the way were the men’s and women’s soccer teams who had 22 and 20 honorees, respectively.

Each semester, recognition is given to student-athletes who achieve a grade-point average of 3.2 or higher on a 4-point scale. All student-athletes, including underclassmen, transfers, and those who play non-conference sponsored sports, are eligible for the recognition as long as they participated during the semester in question.

The Conference Carolinas Presidential Honor Roll is awarded twice each school year, recognizing the scholastic achievements of student-athletes for each semester.

Below is a complete list of all the student-athletes that were named to the honor roll.

Men’s Basketball

Marcus Cassesa

Keegan Crabtree

Rishad Felton

James Glover Jr.

Chad Hicks

Jonathan Honore

Lepreece Lynch

Darius Malbon

Gregory Motley

Tyriq Royal

Avery Wallis

Zachary Wilmoth 

Women’s Basketball

Mackenzie Blankenship

Taylor Fluette

Brea Forbes

Lacy Hairgrove

Martha Mastin

Christa Tumminello

Olivia Unger

Jayne Yocum

Men’s Cross Country

Lane Graves

Shawn Graves

Cody McNeely

Tyler Pauley

Austin Thompson

Women’s Cross Country

Margaret Booth

Makayla Estep

Kaitlyn Gearing

Jordyn Halvorsen

Hannah Phykitt

Men’s Cycling

Evan Christenson

Samuel Dobrozsi

Jake Grimes

Jonathan Guiza

Will Hardin

Jake Kahn

Phil Kmetz

Amir Merali

Jack Perry

Quinn Reeves

Connor Simmons

Nolan Vanderzwaag

Women’s Cycling

Simona Croccolo

Stacey Hyslop

Emma Klingaman

Hannah Phykitt

Erin Sferrazza

Ashlyn Woods

Men’s Lacrosse

Ryan Beauchamp

Dane Carney

Cameron Castle

Caleb Culverhouse

Zachary Fagan

Alec Molander

Allan Smith

Blaine Stottlar

Women’s Lacrosse

Christy Caton

Dayna DeCesare

Callie Gregg

Sara Henderson

Patterson Jones

Tiffany Laster

Cheyenne Warrick

Men’s Soccer

Tommie Andersson

Nathan Ashburn

Zachary Clay

Thomas Deeley

Matthew Dunn

Brady Ennis

Isauro Estrada

David Frederick

Colin Frie

Adam Hackett

Neeko Helbich

Palle Jespersen

Harvey McMorrow

James Morgan

Taylor Morton

Tyler Pavlet

Andy Ramirez

John Spranza IV

Anders Stoakes

Pol Vassart

Nathan Watt

Kelvin Woods

Women’s Soccer

Allyna Ankney

Lindsey Bish

Katelyn Daniel

Autumn Esposito

Alexis Feely

Alejandrina Keeney

Lena Langille

Brenna Malatestinic

Kennedy Masse

Leanne McAlexander

Emma McGovern

Riley Neese

Julie Perkins

Cailyn Pichler

Timber Powell

Savannah Rees

Natalie Shuman

Nikki Torres

Kelsey Twigg

Cheyenne Warrick


Sarah Ashley

Noel Cassidy

Kara Cunningham

Chelsea DiGregorio

Charlie Dutton

Whitney Green

Bailey Helms

Valarie Hickey

Karly McRary

Emily Merriam

Andrea Milan

Gabrielle Moyer

Megan Paradise

Sarah Stallings

Kara Travis

Sarah Tucker

Men’s Tennis

Thomas Deeley

Cole Douglas-Fields

Garrett Lakey

Women’s Tennis

Jaden Acklin

Amanda Chapman

Caroline Green

Rebecca Pierce

Dakota Tittle

Men’s Track & Field (Indoor & Outdoor)

Joshua Cady

Rishad Felton

Joshua Godwin

Lane Graves

Shawn Graves

Christian Lloyd

Cody McNeely

Christopher Smith

Dalton Tallent

Austin Thompson

Zachary Thompson

Women’s Track & Field (Indoor & Outdoor)

Margaret Booth

Jordan Brigman

Makayla Estep

Kaitlyn Gearing

Jordyn Halvorsen

Jessica Hattabaugh

Jennifer Johnson

Kayla Powell

Mary Sachs

Men’s Volleyball

Tyler Doyle

Keenan Freitas

Anthony Klaas

Weslee Rogman

Hector Serviat

Mark Shayka

John Sobel 

Women’s Volleyball

Rachel Cutshaw

Madigan Gonzalez

Haylee Leonard

Skylar Nelson

Darian Parsons

Whitley Starnes

Siarra Walker

Courtney Weathersbee

Alexandria Zangari

Allie Cunningham

For more information of Lees-McRae Athletics, follow us on our social media sites on Twitter (@LMCBobcats), Facebook (Lees-McRae Athletics) and on Instagram (leesmcraeathletics)


Watauga County Gospel Singing, June 24

WHAT:                Watauga County Gospel Singing       
WHERE:              Mountain Dale Baptist Church
Mountain Dale Road, Vilas, NC
Pastor B Eric Cornett
WHEN:                June 24, 2017
6:00 p.m.


Concert at St. John’s Episcopal Church, July 2

Sunday, July 2nd will find The Good Vibes Trio at St. John’s Episcopal Church performing swing, bosa nova and torch songs in the style of Lionel Hampton.  Bring a covered dish to share and join us for supper on the lawn after an evening of wonderful music.  The concert is at 5:00 pm with admission of $5.00 per person.  St. John’s is located in Valle Crucis on Herb Thomas Rd., – off Mast Gap Road – signs will be posted. For further information www.holycrossvallecrucis.net and clink on the link for St. John’s or call 828-963-4609


Public Notice: Mountain Family Medicine to Close on July 7

Public Notice:

Mountain Family Medicine announces the closing of its medical practice on July 7, 2017 and will no longer see patients after that date. Mountain Family Medicine will begin immediately to transfer patient medical records to other physicians upon patient request. Patients should contact Mountain Family Medicine, 828.262.1800, 178 Hwy 105 EXT, Boone, NC 28607 as soon as possible to make arrangements for the forwarding of their medical records to another physician of their choice. If you do not know another physician, you may contact the North Carolina Medical Society or visit the North Carolina Medical Board website at www.ncmedboard.org for resources.


Sirens on the Mountain 2017 Schedule

JUNE 24th, 2017

12:00 PM    .  Gates Open
2:00 PM         Downtown Abby and The Echoes
3:30 PM         Melissa Reaves (solo set)
5:00 PM .       Shelby Rae Moore
(dinner will be served between 6-8PM)
7:30 PM .       Amythyst Kiah
9:00 PM         Melissa Reaves
11:30 PM .     Laura Blackley (acoustic set)

We ask that campers please check out by 12pm on Sunday June 25th.

Can’t wait to see you on the mountain!!  

Venue address: 839 River Road, Todd, North Carolina 28684


Banner Elk Cafe Music on the Patio in Full Swing

The Banner Elk Cafe and The Lodge Espresso Bar present the Music on the Patio summer concert series on Fridays and Saturdays from 6-10 p.m.

Below is the current schedule of performers:

June 23 – Vintage

June 24 – Sound Traveler 

June 30 – Dillon Cable

July 1 – Josh Perryman

July 7 – Joseph Houck

July 8 – Sound Traveler

July 14 – TBA

July 15 – Westwend

July 21 – Vintage

July 22 – Josh Perryman

July 23 – Dillon Cable

July 28 – Westwend