1000 x 90

Smith Gallery at Appalachian State University Presents: Art Expo 2015: Student Exhibition


Feb. 23, 2015. The Smith Gallery at Appalachian State University presents Art Expo 2015, an annual juried student exhibition and arts competition for Appalachian students. The exhibition will be on view from Feb. 24 through March 28 at the Smith Gallery located in the Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts. The exhibition is organized by the Smith Gallery and juried by Mary Anne Redding, the Curator at the Turchin Center for the Visual Arts in Boone.

Works exhibited in Art Expo 2015 were selected from hundreds of entries made by current students at Appalachian. Guest juror Mary Ann Redding choose works of various media including clay, drawing, fibers, metals and jewelry, painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture, graphic design and video. Redding will award 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place prizes as well as determine the Best in Show. Visitors to the gallery are invited to vote for their favorite work throughout the duration of the exhibition to determine the People’s Choice Award. These awards and purchases made for the Appalachian Permanent Collection at Plemmons Student Union will be announced at the reception and awards ceremony scheduled for March 20th from 4 to 6pm at the Smith Gallery. The public is invited to honor these student artists, celebrate with the award winners, and to recognize Department of Art students receiving scholarships given for their achievements. The event is free and open to all.

The gallery is pleased to present artwork in a wide range of media created by these Appalachian students: Sam Anderson, Samantha Anderson, Josh Bannen, Meg Becker, Patrick Bidwell, Rachel Bowles, Paige Brown, Renee Cloud, Jeni Conklin, Lauren Dockery, Miles Elliott, David Jones, Elliot Keeley, Kenzie Knox, Amelia Kowaleski, Liz Lasine, Chrisopher Lin, Morgan Lochbihler, John Mann, Chelsea Marqueda, Andrew Merritt, Victor Moore, Danielle Mulvihill, Lacy Nance, Ben Osborne, Nick Osetek, Freestone Peach, Amanda Parish, Christine Perry, Rebecca Pitocco, Stephen Rabey, Allison Rodrigue, Lauren Roquemore, Alissa Sauter, Erina Schultz, Zachary Scott, William Seal, Charles Shuford, Ryan Spiess, Kathryn Sullivan, Eric Wagy, Spenser Williams, and J.S. Wright. In addition, all Art Expo 2015 design materials were created by graphic design major Katie Johnson.

Juror Mary Anne Redding states, “Being new to Appalachian, I am honored to jury this year’s Art Expo. Reviewing the diversity of artwork that students submitted was a great introduction to the entire art department. It’s encouraging to see art students engaging with challenging ideas and producing well-executed pieces at such early stages in their careers. The quality of the artwork supports the reputation of the faculty teaching in the art department and the distinction of the students who come to Boone to pursue their studies in and passion for the visual arts.”

About the Juror

Mary Anne Redding is the Curator at the Turchin Center for the Visual Arts at Appalachian State University in Boone NC. Most recently, she was the Curator of the Marion Center for Photographic Arts and the Chair of the Photography Department at Santa Fe University of Art & Design. Previously, she was the Curator of Photography for the Palace of the Governors/New Mexico History Museum, from March 2007- December 2011. Redding has more than twenty-five years of experience working as a curator, archivist, librarian, educator, and arts administrator.