1000 x 90

Small Lands on Wuerffel Watch List

Darian Small was named to the Wuerffel Trophy Watch list for his exemplary community service in the Boone area. Courtesy: App State Athletics
Darian Small was named to the Wuerffel Trophy Watch list for his exemplary community service in the Boone area. Courtesy: App State Athletics

Appalachian State University football senior defensive lineman Darian Small was tabbed to the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List on Wednesday for his service to the community and his work in the classroom.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach Florida.  Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Small is one of a Wuerffel Trophy Watch List record 88 student-athletes from across the nation to land on the watch list and one of six student-athletes from the Sun Belt. Joining Small from the SBC are Blaise Taylor (Arkansas State), Keith Rucker (Georgia State), Karmichael Dunbar (UL Lafayette), Felix Romero (Texas State) and  John Johnson (Troy).

In four years at App State, Small has worked with various organizations in the community, such as the Total Athlete Sport Complex, where each summer he was part of a program that promoted childhood activity and prevention of childhood obesity. Small is also a vacation bible school volunteer at First Baptist Church.

Among other community service, Small helps provide Christmas dinner for needy families at the CJM Ministry of Hope, while he is a two-time race volunteer in 2015 and 2016 that benefits the Blue Ridge Parkway Foundation and Girls on the Run.

Small being named to the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List makes it the fourth time this month a Mountaineer has been named to a preseason watch list, as as Marcus Cox was named to the Maxwell Award Watch List , Barrett Burns was selected for the John Mackey Award Watch List and most recently Parker Collins landed on the Outland Trophy Watch List.

Coming off an impressive 11-2 campaign in 2015 with a Camellia Bowl win over Ohio (31-29) and setting the record for the most wins in the Sun Belt, the Mountaineers return 17 starters. App State opens up the 2016 season on the road against Tennessee in Knoxville on Thursday, Sept. 1.

Fans can also still enjoy the perks that come with being a Yosef Club member by joining for the 2016 membership year, which runs through Dec. 31, 2016. Yosef Club membership comes with access to exclusive seating and parking for Appalachian State football (at certain membership levels). Additionally, Yosef Club members at the $100 annual and above will be eligible to participate in July’s single-game tickets pre-sale.

To join the Yosef Club today, click HERE or call the Yosef Club office at (828) 262-3108.