1000 x 90

Update: More Candidacy Filings for Municipal Elections in Watauga, Filing Opened July 7

Update: Two incumbent members of the Seven Devils Town Council, Brand Lambert and Kay Ehlinger, are the latest to file their candidacy for the 2017 municipal elections. See previous story of the filing opening last Friday.

By Jesse Wood

Several people have filed their candidacy for the 2017 municipal elections in Watauga County. The latest to file, according to Watauga County Board of Elections Director Matt Snyder, is Barry Kaufman for a seat on the Beech Mountain Town Council on Monday afternoon.

Filing opened at noon on Friday, July 7 and closes on Friday, July 21.

The following seats are open for election for mayors of Boone (Rennie Brantz) and Blowing Rock (J.B. Lawrence) and council members of Boone (seats of Charlotte Mizelle, Jennifer Underdown-Collins and Jennifer Teague), Blowing Rock (seats of Doug Matheson and Sue Sweeting), Beech Mountain (seats of E. Rick Miller, Paul Piquet and Rick Owen) and Seven Devils Kay Ehlinger, David Hooper and Brad Lambert.

The following have filed their candidacy as of Monday afternoon:

Beech Mountain Town Council:

  • J. Weidner Abernethy
  • Barry Kaufman

Blowing Rock Mayor:

  • Charles Sellers
  • J.B. Lawrence (I) 

Boone Mayor:

  • Rennie Brantz (I)

Boone Town Council:

  • Connie Ulmer
  • Jeannine Underdown Collins (I)
  • Charlotte Mizelle (I)
  • Jill Reeves

Seven Devils Town Council:

  • Brad Lambert (I)
  • Kay Ehlinger (I)
  • Bob Dodson

The election is in November. 

For more information, click to the Watauga County Board of Elections website or call 828-265-8061.