1000 x 90

NC League of Municipalities Elects Boone Safety, Risk Management Officer Terry Story to Board of Directors

Terry Story stands with Boone Mayor Loretta Clawson

Dec. 6, 2012. The North Carolina League of Municipalities (NCLM) recently elected Boone’s safety and risk management officer, Terry Story, to its Board of Directors during the League’s annual conference in Charlotte.

The North Carolina League of Municipalities is a membership association of more than 540 hometowns. The board of directors is comprised of municipal officials from across the state who are recognized as leaders among their colleagues. The board is responsible for representing the opinions of members when deciding the direction of the League. For more than 100 years, the League has promoted – and continues to promote – good government by offering non-partisan advocacy, insurance and other services — as directed by its membership.

“We’re grateful to have such leadership in the League,” said Ellis Hankins, executive director of the League. “I look forward to working with the new board each year.”

Terry has worked for the town of Boone for 24 years. In his current position as the town’s safety and risk management officer, he works diligently to ensure all departments comply with OSHA’s standards, provides support in order to implement advanced risk management practices, and is a helpful liaison between the town and various insurance companies and attorneys, among many other tasks. Terry also maintains a strong presence in the community on various boards, and received the Safe Communities Champion Award for his outstanding leadership in supporting motor vehicle injury prevention programs by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

“I have worked with Terry for 15 years, and we have had a wonderful working relationship,” stated Mayor Loretta Clawson of the Town of Boone. “As a former officer of the North Carolina League of Municipalities’ Board of Directors, I am certain that Terry will do very well on this board.”

In addition to Terry Story, Emerald Isle Mayor Art Schools was elected President, Goldsboro Mayor Al King was elected First Vice President, and Burlington Mayor Ronnie Wall was elected Second Vice President. Other members elected to the Board of Directors include Town Manager Hazen Blodgett of Matthews, Council Member Walter Currie of Weaverville, Human Resources Director Eleanor Green of Apex, Mayor Lestine Hutchens of Elkin, Mayor Jody McLeod of Clayton and Council Member Jennifer Robinson of Cary.