1000 x 90

Unofficial Watauga County Primary Election Results; Sales Tax Increase Did Not Pass

By Luke Weir

Partisan primary voting for the 2018 North Carolina midterm elections took place across the state and in Watauga County on Tuesday, deciding one Democratic race, five Republican races, and a bipartisan sales tax referendum in the county.

Prior to Tuesday, early voting took place weekdays beginning April 19 until Saturday, May 5. Combined with early voting totals, 5,597 voters cast ballots in Watauga County during the 2018 midterm primary elections, good for 12% turnout. The races and results are as follows:

20 out of 20 precincts reporting

Bipartisan (all ballots):

 One Quarter Cent Sales Tax Increase

FOR: 2480




US House of Representatives District 5

Jenny Marshall: 1263

DD Adams: 1129



US House of Representatives District 5

Virginia Foxx: 2330

Dillon Gentry: 487

Cortland J. Meador, Jr.: 233


NC State Senate District 45

Shirley Blackburn Randleman: 783

Deanna Ballard: 2224


NC House of Representatives District 93

Jonathan C. Jordan: 2403

Robert Block: 554


Board of Commissioners District 5

Tommy Sofield: 1792

Allen Trivette: 1142



Tim Holman: 381

David Searcy: 2534