1000 x 90

Elections Board To Host 9 Public Hearings on Voter ID Rules, Boone Meeting on June 10

The State Board of Elections on Wednesday will host the first of nine public hearings on proposed rules for the implementation of voter ID requirements that takes effect in 2016.  The public hearings are listening opportunities for the agency to receive comment on the proposed rules.

Hearings will be held from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. at the following locations:

June 3 Raleigh State Board of Elections Office, 441 North Harrington Avenue, Raleigh
June 4 Manteo Dare County Administration Building, 954 Marshall C. Collins Drive, Rm 168, Manteo
June 5 Wilmington Hanover County Human Resources Department, Conference Room 401 230 Government Center Drive, Suite 135, Wilmington
June 8 Charlotte Hal Marshall Auditorium 700 North Tryon St., Charlotte
June 9 Winston-Salem Forsyth County Government Center, Multi-Purpose Room 201 Chestnut Street, Winston-Salem
June 10 Boone Watauga County Administration Building, Board of Commissioners Meeting Room 814 West King Street, Boone
June 11 Sylva Jackson County Board of Elections Office, Conference Room 876 Skyland Drive, Suite 1, Sylva
June 12 Fayetteville Cumberland County Board of Elections, Training Room 227 Fountainhead Lane, Suite 101, Fayetteville
June 15 Tarboro Edgecombe County Administrative Building, Auditorium 201 St. Andrew St., Tarboro

All hearings are open to the public.  Those interested in providing comments are invited to attend hearings or to submit written comments to the State Board of Elections via email (rules@ncsbe.gov) or mail  (PO Box 27255, Raleigh, NC 27611-7255, to the attention of Rule-making Coordinator).

The public comment period closes June 30. For more information on photo ID required to vote at the polls in 2016, visit voterID.nc.gov.

The State Board’s voter outreach team is available to make informational presentations and to assist voters in obtaining a free ID from the DMV. They can be reached at 1-866-522-4723 orVoterOutreach.sboe@ncsbe.gov