1000 x 90

Catherine J. Smith Gallery presents Art Expo 2013 at the Appalachian Turchin Center, Feb. 1 to March 16

Image courtesy of the Catherine J. Smith Gallery website
Image courtesy of the Catherine J. Smith Gallery website

Jan. 29, 2013. Catherine J. Smith Gallery at Appalachian State University presents Art Expo 2013, an annual juried exhibition and arts competition for students at Appalachian. The exhibit will be on view from Feb. 1 to March 16 at the Turchin Center for the Visual Arts (TCVA).

A public reception for Art Expo 2013 will be held March 1 from 5 to 7 p.m. at the TCVA, with the awards ceremony beginning at 5:30 p.m. The public is invited to join in honoring the 50 exhibiting artists and award winners, as well as Department of Art students receiving scholarships given for their achievements. The event is free and open to the public.

The exhibition is organized by the Catherine J. Smith Gallery (CSG), juried by Nancy Sokolove, adult programs manager and curatorial team member at the Asheville Art Museum, and installed by Ben Wesemann, acting director of CSG. Corwin Harrell, a graphic design major at Appalachian, designed promotional materials for the event.

Works exhibited in Art Expo 2013 were selected from hundreds of entries made to the Catherine J. Smith Gallery. Sokolove chose works of various media including clay, drawing, fibers, metalsmithing, painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture, graphic design and motion graphics.

Sokolove will award first, second and third place prizes as well as determine the Best in Show.  The public is invited to vote for their favorite piece at the TCVA during the month of February to determine the People’s Choice Award.  The Plemmons Student Union (PSU) Arts Committee will purchase selected works to be included in the Appalachian Artists Collection on display in the student union.

The student artists are: Laura Arbogast, Emily Beerbower, Jonathan Benz, Audrey Boyle, Josiah Cameron, Olivia Capizzi, Brittney Caudle, Meghan Class, Renee Cloud, Randall Dameron, Kayla Diamanti, Mauryn Eisenshmidt, Kelly Ensley, Hannah Gray, Emily Greason, Corwin Harrel,  Katherine James, Lauren Jordan, Rachel Kirk, Laurie Kirkpatrick, Lindsay Kyle, Elizabeth Lauer, Madeline Lee, Justin Leitner, Jessica Lellie, Claire Lenahan, Robert Maley, Chelsea Marqueda, Kelly Martin, Katherine Meeks, Danielle Mulvihill, Gena Murfin, Veronica Nawojczyk, Ryan Novak, Melissa Ortiz, Sarah Parker, Maria Perry, Leann Rafferty, Emily Rapp, Marcie Ried, Merideth Ruff, Faisuly Scheurer, Joey Scott, Emily Smith, Kerri Smoot, Jacob Voight, Annie Walker, Alexis Wright, Emile Young and Anna Zilkowski. 

About the Juror

As adult programs manager and curatorial team member at Asheville Art Museum, Nancy Sokolove organizes programming to support and enhance current exhibitions. She is also program manager for the smART Speak: Distinguished Artists Series. Sokolove was an adjunct faculty member in the Department of Art at Appalachian from 1997 to 2004.

The Turchin Center for the Visual Arts is located at 423 W. King St., adjacent to the Appalachian State University campus in Boone. Admission is free. Hours are Tuesday-Thursday and Saturday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; and Friday from noon to 8 p.m.

More information is available at tcva.org or www.art.appstate.edu/cjs/