1000 x 90

Blowing Rock Community Foundation Awards Scholarships to Class of 2020


The Blowing Rock Community Foundation is proud to announce the scholarship recipients for 2016. The six students pictured below will join the current twenty scholarship recipients for a total of twenty-six scholarships awarded for the 2016-2017 academic year. This includes the second recipient of the Jane and Dan Wolfe Scholarship – Nick Novacek. Four scholarship recipients will graduate this May – Amanda Bryson from Appalachian State University, Eric Dehus from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Max Linnville from Holy Cross, and Joey Nelson from Montana State University.

The Foundation initially awarded one full scholarship (including tuition, room and board, and books). In 1999, Amber Teague Bratt was the first Foundation scholarship recipient to complete her undergraduate degree. Since then, ninety plus students have received scholarships totaling over $500,000. Of that number, over ninety percent have graduated with undergraduate or associates degrees and many have, or are in the process of, obtaining advanced degrees.

The Foundation is very proud of these scholarship recipients both past and present! Many thanks to all of the members of the community who have contributed time, talent, and resources to support the Foundation and the amazing young people in our community!!! 


For more information on the foundation visit our website at www.blowingrockcf.org. For larger, individual pictures please click here.