1000 x 90

Avery County Schools Announces Employees of the Year, Recognition Celebration Thursday in Newland

Avery County SchoolsMay 1, 2013. Avery County Schools is proud to announce the following employees for their outstanding service to its schools and students and applauds the dedication and commitment served to schools and families!   

On Thursday, May 2, all of the employees will be honored at the Employee of the Year Recognition Celebration. The event takes place at The Church of Jesus Christ, located on Calvary Street in Newland, from 6 to 8 p.m.  

Avery County 2013 Teachers of the Year

  • Avery High School: Penny Bentley
  • Avery Middle School: April Cheuvront
  • Cranberry Middle School: Hannah Arnett
  • Banner Elk Elementary: Freda Winte
  • Crossnore Elementary: Loretta Sluder
  • Freedom Trail Elementary: Melanie McLeod
  • Newland Elementary: Alise Lipps
  • Riverside Elementary: Cathy Burleson

2013 Avery County Teacher of the Year: To be announced!

Principal of the Year: 2013 Ricky Ward

Exceptional Children’s: Liz Brown, School Psychologist

Farm Bureau: April Cheuvront AMS Science

VFW Teachers of the Year: Loretta Sluder CES

Teacher Assistants

  • Riverside: Sarah Jennings
  • Freedom Trail: Kathy Ellis
  • Crossnore: Patricia Shook
  • Banner Elk: Lissa Winters
  • Avery Middle: Sam Phillips

Child Nutrition/Food Services

  • Amy Parlier FTES
  • Joanna Garland CES
  • Melinda Taylor AMS/Blue Ridge Academy
  • Lisa Stamey AHS

Bus Driver-Transportation

  • Cheryl HoltsclawFTES
  • Billy Howard CES
  • Judy Storie AMS
  • Diane Shoupe AMS
  • Marsha Holiman RSE
  • Mitch Banner ACS (FTES)
  • Brian King ACS

Office Support

  • Staci Koerber, FTES
  • Deb Winters, CMS
  • Sherry Dellinger, NES
  • Shelia Cannon, CES, AMS, NES
  • Bev Baird, AHS
  • Linda McKinney, RSE
  • Ginger Sparks, BES
  • Sheila Cannon, AMS/BRC/CES/NES
  • Lara Gil, ACS
  • Beth Prince ACS Title III Parent Liaison

Technology Support

  • David Rep AHS
  • Nancy Carver BES

Custodian Director

  • Casey Gragg FTES
  • Justin Stines CMS
  • Bill Benfield CES
  • Jude Hughes AHS
  • Jonathan Dellinger RES
  • Richard Brown AMS/Blue Ridge Academy
  • Charlie Jennings AHS


  • Jim Shoupe FTES, RES
  • Josh Shoupe CES
  • Derrell Pittman AHS, BES
  • Heath Brookshire AMS


  • Candace Englert Director of Pre-k and Advanced Differentiation Specialist 25 years
  • Carolyn Garland Financial Assistant Payroll and Insurance 28
  • Lisa Wright EC/Curriculum Coordinator/EC Interim 30
  • Sandra Bickel Health Occupations 14
  • Jack Jones ACS Transportation 30
  • Alveda Buchanan Child Nutrition 15
  • Rosa Crowder Custodian 13