1000 x 90

Avery County FFA Members participating in the State Leadership Conference

SLC 2016 wState Officers
Avery County FFA Members participating in the State Leadership Conference with the 2016-17 NCFFA State Officer Team and FFA National Officer: (front) Clark Fowler, Sarah Thomas, Miria Jones, Rylie Daniels, Mary Kate Morgan, and Trey Palmer. (back) Layne Baker, Dawson Buchanan, Jared Jaynes, Katherine Miller, and Abrah Meyer.

The North Carolina FFA held its annual State Leadership Conference August 1-5, 2016 at The North Carolina FFA Center in White Lake, NC.

The theme for the Conference was (I’m)possible!, implying that nothing is impossible for those who work hard enough to achieve their goals.   Four Avery County FFA members participated in this intense leadership conference.

There were 230 FFA members in attendance in addition to FFA Advisors, camp staff, state staff, NCFFA State Officers, and a National FFA Officer, Abrah Meyer, from Iowa. The NCFFA State Officers and National Officer led workshops and leadership sessions for all students in attendance.

The 2016-17 NCFFA State Officer Team consists of Layne Baker, Sarah Thomas, Katherine Miller, Trey Palmer, Mary Kate Morgan, and Clark Fowler.

Each State Officer presented leadership skills, new methods to improve personal growth in FFA, and opportunities for FFA members. Past State Officers participated in the sessions to assist with group activities, techniques, procedures, and project based hands on learning.

Abrah, the National FFA officer from Iowa, was the keynote speaker for the final day of SLC. She used personal examples and experiences and inspired FFA Members to realize they can achieve their goals by stepping out and believing in themselves.

Avery County FFA Members participating in the State Leadership Conference were Miria Jones, Rylie Daniels, Jared Jaynes, and Dawson Buchanan.

SLC 2016
Dawson Buchanan, Rylie Daniels, Miria Jones and Jared Jaynes at the FFA Center Sign.

Jared Jaynes and Dawson Buchanan represented Avery County and the Northwest FFA region well as regional officers. Jared Jaynes and Dawson Buchanan actively participated in regional officer activities and both were part of the team that placed 3rd in the Parliamentary Procedure competition that took place at SLC.

Gretchen Blackburn and Dewayne Krege were the FFA Advisors that had the privilege of attending SLC with these four amazing students and future leaders.

The mission of the National FFA Organization is, “FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.”

Please contact Mrs. Blackburn or Mr. Krege at Avery County High School to see how your student can take part in future opportunities in the Avery FFA Chapter. We also welcome any and all who would like to partner with the Avery FFA Chapter to insure future students can take part in these activities.