1000 x 90

Appalachian State University’s Fall 2014 Visiting Writers Series Continues with Author Shira Dentz

By Madison Fisler Lewis

Oct. 30, 2014. Appalachian State University’s Visiting Writers Series will continue its fall installment on Thursday, Nov. 13, with author Shira Dentz. Dentz will deliver a craft talk and a book reading inside Plemmons Student Union on campus.

imgresDentz is the author of Black Seeds on a White Dish, Door of Thin Skins, Leaf Weather and Sisyphusina. She has received many accolades, including an Academy of American Poets’ Prize, The Poetry Society of America’s Lyric Poem and Cecil Hemley Memorial Awards, Electronic Poetry Review’s Discovery Award and Painted Bride Quarterly’s Poetry Prize.

The author holds a PhD in creative writing and literature from the University of Utah and is currently the Reviews Editor at Drunken Boat.

While at Appalachian State University, Dentz will deliver a craft talk from 2-3:15 p.m. in the Rough Ridge Room in Plemmons Student Union. In addition, she will host a reading event at 7:30 p.m. in the Table Rock Room of Plemmons Student Union.. Both events are free and open to the public.

This installment of the Visiting Writers Series will mark the final event for the fall 2014 semester. The Visiting Writers Series will pick back up on Thursday, March 19, 2015 when author Hank Lazer visits ASU to kick off the spring 2015 series.

The Visiting Writers Series 2014-2015 season is supported by the Appalachian State University Foundation, Appalachian’s Office of Academic Affairs, the College of Arts and Sciences, the Department of English, the Summer Reading Program, the University Bookstore, Belk Library, and the Appalachian Journal. Business sponsors are The Gideon Ridge Inn and The Red Onion Restaurant. Community sponsors include John and the late Margie Idol, Paul and Judy Tobin, Alice Naylor, Thomas McLaughlin, and The High Country Writers.

The Visiting Writers Series is named in honor of Hughlene Bostian Frank (class of 1968), 2013 Appalachian Alumni Association Outstanding Service award recipient, past trustee, and generous supporter of Appalachian State University.