1000 x 90

Appalachian Educators Receive Awards for Work in University College, General Education

Seven Appalachian State University faculty and staff members were honored for their dedication to the betterment of Appalachian’s general education program at the annual University College/General Education awards ceremony.

“General education and other first year experiences make up the foundation upon which student success, both in academia and in life, is built. I am happy to recognize some of the truly masterful builders,” said Dr. Michael Krenn, professor of history and director of general education at Appalachian.

From left are award winners Miles Britton, Skip Rackmill, Kelly McBride, Kayla Hill, Andrew Hawley and Craig Caldwell. Not pictured, Beth Davison.
From left are award winners Miles Britton, Skip Rackmill, Kelly McBride, Kayla Hill, Andrew Hawley and Craig Caldwell. Not pictured, Beth Davison.

Kayla Hill received the Excellence in Student Advising and Mentoring Award, which is given to a faculty or staff member for superior performance in promoting and fostering student learning, development and self-authorship through their advising and mentoring activities. Hill is an academic advisor for athletes in Appalachian’s Learning Assistance Program. She establishes high expectations of her advisees, which renders high performance in the classroom.

Dr. Beth Davison received the Excellence in Community Engagement Award, which is given to a faculty or staff member whose activities promote collaboration between institutions of higher education and their larger communities for the mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources. Davison is director of interdisciplinary studies and the co-founder and co-director of University Documentary Film Services (UDFS). She has used UDFS as a vehicle to link Appalachian to the local region and the rest of the world. Davison also serves as chair of the board of directors for F.A.R.M. Cafe and advises the F.A.R.M. Cafe student club.

Andrew Hawley received the Faculty Award for Excellence in General Education Teaching, which recognizes a faculty member not on tenure track for innovative and committed teaching in the general education program. Hawley is coordinator for outdoor programs in University Recreation, and was nominated for the award because he offers innovative and dynamic courses that reach Appalachian students deeply on cognitive levels.

Miles Britton received the A-Portfolio Award for Excellence in Teaching, which recognizes a faculty member who has effectively integrated the use of Digication ePortfolios into his or her instructional program for purposes of assessing, showcasing and encouraging reflection on students’ work. Britton is a lecturer in the Department of English and participated in the A-portfolio pilot program. Britton has excelled in teaching students about multimedia and writing for the web through his use of A-portfolio.

Dr. Craig Caldwell received the Wayne D. Duncan Appalachian State University Faculty Enrichment and Teaching Fellowship, which is given to a full-time faculty member in recognition of innovative and successful teaching in the general education program. The fellowship can be used for travel, equipment or other approved purposes. Caldwell is an assistant professor in the Department of History and was instrumental in the set-up of Gen Ed 2.0 by leading a theme in the Integrative Learning Experience component.

Skip Rackmill received the Rennie W. Brantz Award for Outstanding Teacher in the First Year Seminar, which honors an instructor who demonstrates exemplary teaching and has made an impact on students. Rackmill teaches a seminar on Eastern Asian Martial Arts, holds a third degree black belt in Aikido and brings his knowledge of the historical and political context of Korea, China and Japan to the classroom.

Kelly McBride received the Harvey R. Durham Outstanding Freshman Advocate Award, which is designed to recognize a full-time employee who has contributed significantly to improving the freshman experience on Appalachian’s campus. McBride is the information literacy and instruction coordinator in Belk Library and Information Commons. McBride provides information literacy instruction for students, faculty and staff.