Sound Traveler, An Acoustic Band on the Move, Returns to the High Country for the Summer Season

Published Friday, June 2, 2017 at 1:44 pm

Bob and Patty Tatum make up the well-known acoustic band, Sound Traveler.

Bob Tatum and Patty Kunze Tatum are the shining faces of the acoustic band, Sound Traveler. Although the two find their year-round home in Cape Canaveral, the couple spends their summertime season in Avery County, where they perform at various venues throughout the High Country.

Bob Tatum plays lead guitar, banjo and harmonica. Patty, on the other hand, plays trumpet, concertina, melodica, ukulele and percussion. Both, also, add lead and harmony vocals. It’s safe to say this couple is full of pure musical talent! They have played over 1,700 shows since 2010, and the number just keeps on growing.

They have had performances throughout all of North Carolina and Tennessee, Florida and George, as well as in Japan, Costa Rica and the Washington, D.C. area. Regardless of where life takes them, wherever they go, they always strive to continue to make music that can both inspire and reach the hearts of audience members.

Throughout the summer season, Bob and Patty will be playing as Sound Traveler at a variety of locations. The upcoming performances in the High Country are Friday, June 2 at the Dispensary & Upper Club in Spruce Pine, June 3 at the Banner Elk Winery and June 4 at the Original Mast General Store in Valle Crucis. 

Below is the band’s summer schedule:

Friday, June 2 (7:00-9:00 PM):  Dispensary & Upper Club, Spruce Pine (private club that is open to the public, conditions apply.  Contact club management directly for entrance information)

Saturday, June 3 (4:00-8:00 PM):  Banner Elk Winery, Banner Elk (grand opening of the “High Country Wine Trail” this weekend)

Sunday, June 4 (Noon – 3:00 PM):  Original Mast General Store, Valle Crucis

Friday, June 9 (6:00-10:00 PM):  Banner Elk Cafe, Banner Elk

Saturday, June 10 (7:30-11:00 PM):  Appalachian Mountain Brewery, Boone

Sunday, June 11 (1:00-2:30 PM):  The Orchard at Altapass, Little Switzerland

Saturday, June 17 (11:00 AM-Noon):  Roan Mountain Rhododendron Festival, Roan Mountain State Park, TN

Saturday, June 17 (6:00-9:00 PM):  Carolina Barbeque, Newland

Sunday, June 18 (4:00-6:00 PM):  Vintage Valle Music concert series at Baird’s Creek Presbyterian Church, Vilas.  Sound Traveler will be appearing, along with The Burnett Sisters

Saturday, June 24 (9:00-11:30 AM):  Watauga County Farmers’ Market, Horn in the West, Boone

Saturday, June 24 (6:00-10:00 PM):  Banner Elk Cafe, Banner Elk

Friday, June 30 (3:00-4:00 PM):  Jonesborough Days, Jonesborough (TN)

Saturday, July 1 (Noon-1:00 PM):  Jonesborough Days, Jonesborough (TN)

Saturday, July 8 (6:00-10:00 PM):  Banner Elk Cafe, Banner Elk

Friday, July 14 (7:30-11:00 PM):  Appalachian Mountain Brewery, Boone

Saturday, July 15 (7:00-8:00 PM):  Flintlock Campground, Boone (sponsored by Resort Area Ministries)

Sunday, July 16 (1:00-2:30 PM):  The Orchard at Altapass, Little Switzerland

Thursday, July 20 (5:00-7:30 PM):  Town Tavern Blowing Rock, Blowing Rock

Saturday, July 22 (9:00-11:30 AM):  Watauga County Farmers’ Market, Horn in the West, Boone

Saturday, July 22 (7:00-8:00 PM):  Boone KOA Campground, Boone (sponsored by Resort Area Ministries)

Friday, August 4 (7:30-8:30 PM):  Roan Mountain State Park Amphitheater, Roan Mountain (TN)

Saturday, August 5 (7:00-8:00 PM):  Flintlock Campground, Boone (sponsored by Resort Area Ministries)

Thursday, August 10 (5:00-7:30 PM):  Town Tavern Blowing Rock, Blowing Rock

Saturday, August 12 (5:00-7:00 PM):  Linville Land Harbor Fish Fry, Linville (Pre-purchased ticket of $10 is required.  Please contact Linville Land Harbor’s recreation office for more information)

Sunday, August 13 (3:00-4:30 PM):  The Orchard at Altapass, Little Switzerland

Thursday, August 17 (5:00-7:30 PM):  Town Tavern Blowing Rock, Blowing Rock

Friday, August 18 (6:00-10:00 PM):  Banner Elk Cafe, Banner Elk

Saturday, August 19 (7:30-11:00 PM):  Appalachian Mountain Brewery, Boone

Saturday, September 2 (9:00-11:30 AM):  Watauga County Farmers’ Market, Horn in the West, Boone

Saturday, September 2 (6:00-9:00 PM):  Carolina Barbeque, Newland

Friday, September 8 (7:30-11:00 PM):  Appalachian Mountain Brewery, Boone

Saturday, September 9 (1:00-2:30 PM):  The Orchard at Altapass, Little Switzerland

Saturday, September 23 (6:00-10:00 PM):  Banner Elk Cafe, Banner Elk

Thursday, October 5 (6:00-9:00 PM):  Wolf Hills Brewing Company, Abingdon (VA)

Friday, October 6 (7:30-11:00 PM):  Appalachian Mountain Brewery, Boone

 

For more information about the band, its music or its schedule, visit the Sound Traveler website or the Sound Traveler Facebook page.

Comments

comments

Privacy Policy | Rights & Permissions | Discussion Guidelines

Website Management by Outer Banks Media