Watauga County Students Go Back To School On Monday, Check Out Dates for Holidays, Early Release Days

Published Thursday, August 15, 2013 at 11:32 am

WCSBy Jesse Wood

Aug. 19, 2013. School starts on Monday. The first day is a full-length school day as usual bus routes will run, lunch will be served and afterschool programs will be administered for those registered.

“Ready to Open”

During last Monday’s Watauga County Board of Education meeting, Interim Superintendent David Fonseca said Watauga County Schools are “ready to open.”

While noting that potential work session dates for the fall and spring during the superintendent’s report, Fonseca said, “Other than that, we are just excited. Kids come back on Monday. Parents are ready, teachers are ready.”

Director of Human Resources Stephen Martin said that, as of Monday, 33 new teachers from other school systems had been hired since the end of the 2012-13 school year. He noted that those included 18 elementary and middle school teachers, eight high school teachers, four exceptional children teachers and six fine art teachers.

“We’ve almost filled key positions and have some interviews later this week to finish those out,” Martin said.

Fonseca also noted that many of positions exceeded more than 100 applicants, allowing for the careful selection of a “bright group” of incoming teachers.

More Information About 2013-14 School Year

Click here for information regarding school fees, afterschool programs and orientation dates for students.

Click here for the online database to obtain the school name, bus number, bus schedule and bus stop for a particular address.

School Holiday Dates

If you want to go ahead and make some plans, below are the holidays or days off for kids for the 2013-14 school year schedule. See full schedule here.

  • Labor Day: Monday, Sept. 2
  • Veteran’s Day: Monday, Nov. 11
  • Thanksgiving: Thursday to Friday, Nov. 28 to 29 (Early release Wednesday, Nov. 27)
  • Christmas Break: Monday, Dec. 23 to Friday, Jan. 3 (Early release Friday, Dec. 20)
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Monday, Jan. 20
  • Spring Break: Monday, April 21 to Friday, April 25

Early Release Days (Not Mentioned Above)

  • Friday, Aug. 30
  • Thursday, Oct. 31
  • Friday, Nov. 1

Comments

comments

Privacy Policy | Rights & Permissions | Discussion Guidelines

Website Management by Outer Banks Media