Ricky Ward Named Avery County Schools Principal of the Year, Eight Teachers of the Year Also Announced

Published Monday, April 8, 2013 at 11:49 am
Avery Principal

Ricky Ward (serving at Avery Middle School) POY for Avery County Schools pictured with Student Government Officers from grades 6th thru 8th. Photo courtesy of Avery County Schools

Compiled by Jesse Wood

April 8, 2013. Principal of Avery Middle School Ricky Ward has been named Avery County Schools Principal of the Year. The photo above shows him standing with Student Government Officers from grades sixth to eighth.

Avery County Schools also announced its Teachers of the Year. Spokesman for Avery County Schools Martha Davis said the teachers haven’t had a chance to get together and pose for a photo. The ACS Teachers of the Year are listed below: 

  • Hannah Arnett – Cranberry Middle School
  • Melanie McLeod – Freedom Trail Elementary School
  • Loretta Sluder – Crossnore Elementary School
  • Cathy Burleson – Riverside Elementary School
  • April Cheuvront – Avery Middle School
  • Freda Winte – Banner Elk Elementary School
  • Penny Bentley – Avery High School
  • Alise Lipps – Newland Elementary School 


280 x 540
280 x 540
Privacy Policy | Rights & Permissions | Discussion Guidelines

Website Management by Outer Banks Media