Plemmons Student Union at Appalachian State to Host 2013 Outdoor Jobs Fair Wednesday, Feb. 20

Published Tuesday, February 19, 2013 at 10:15 am

By Paul T. Choate

Last year's Outdoor Jobs Fair saw over 300 people turn out. Photo courtesy of ASU

Last year’s Outdoor Jobs Fair saw over 300 people turn out. Photo courtesy of ASU

Feb. 19, 2013. The Plemmons Student Union at Appalachian State University will host the 2013 Outdoor Jobs Fair on Wednesday, Feb. 20, in the Grandfather Ballroom from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. The event will give attendees the opportunity to find summer jobs in the great outdoors throughout summer 2013. 

According to Greg Snodgrass, program director with Conference and Camp Services at ASU, there will be approximately 60 businesses and organizations — mostly summer camps in the region — at the job fair. 

The Outdoor Jobs Fair has been going on for several years now at ASU and is primarily geared toward college students, although anyone can attend. Snodgrass said over 300 people turned out for the event last year. 

Though the majority of the businesses and organizations are located off the mountain, some are right here in the High Country, with job opportunities at Rock Dimensions Climbing Guides, Sky Valley Zip Tours and others. 

For more information, contact Michelle Johnson at [email protected].

Need a summer job? 

Here is a listing of the businesses and organizations that will be at the job fair tomorrow:

Affiliation Email Website:
Agape Kure Beach Ministries [email protected] www.agapekurebeach.org
Betsy-Jeff Penn 4-H Center [email protected]  
Calleva Outdoors [email protected] www.calleva.org
Camp Arrowhead for Boys [email protected] www.camparrowhead.org
Camp Bethel Ministries [email protected] www.campbethel.com
Camp Carolina [email protected] www.campcarolina.com
Camp Don Lee [email protected] www.donleecenter.org
Camp Glen Arden [email protected] www.campglenardent.com
Camp Grier [email protected] www.campgrier.org
Camp Highlander [email protected] www.camphighlander.com
Camp Hollymont [email protected] www.hollymont.com
Camp Illahee [email protected]  
Camp Kanata [email protected] www.campkanata.org
Camp Lake James [email protected] www.camplakejames.com
Camp Mataponi [email protected] www.campmataponi.com
Camp Merrie-Woode [email protected] www.merriewoode.com
Camp Merri-Mac and Camp Timberlake [email protected] www.merri-mac.com
Camp Rockmont [email protected] www.rockmont.com
Camp Spearhead [email protected] www.campspearhead.org
Camp Tekoa [email protected] www.camptekoa.org
Camp Ton-A-Wandah [email protected]  
Camp UREC [email protected] www.campurec.appstate.edu
Charleston County Parks & Recreation Commission [email protected] www.ccprc.com
Cheerio Adventures [email protected] www.Cheerioadventures.com
Chestnut Ridge Camp and Retreat Center [email protected] http://www.campchestnutridge.org/
Eagle’s Nest Camp [email protected] http://www.enf.org
Falling Creek Camp [email protected] www.fallingcreek.com
Girl Scouts Carolinas Peaks to Piedmont [email protected] www.camplikeagirl.org
Girl Scouts of South Carolina – Mountains to Midland [email protected] www.gssc-mm.org
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation [email protected]  
Green River Preserve [email protected] www.greenriverpreserve.org
Gwynn Valley Camp [email protected] www.gwynnvalley.com
Kanuga Conferences Inc [email protected] www.kanuga.org
KenMont and KenWood Camps [email protected] www.kenmontkenwood.com
Keystone Camp [email protected]  
Landmark Learning [email protected] www.landmarklearning.org
Monroe Camp & Retreat Center [email protected] www.monroecamp.org
Rock Dimensions Climbing Guides [email protected] www.rockdimensions.com
Rockbrook Camp for Girls [email protected]  
Rockfish Camp and Retreat Center [email protected] http://www.camprockfish.org
SOAR, Inc. [email protected] www.soarnc.org
SummerShine Resort Staffing Ministry [email protected] www.summershine.us
SUWS of the Carolinas [email protected] www.suwscarolinas.com
Talisman Summer Camp [email protected] www.talismansummercamp.com
The Salvation Army [email protected] www.campwj.com
The Town of Beech Mountain Parks & Recreation Department [email protected] www.beechrecreation.org
Toe River Lodge & Sky Valley Zip Tours [email protected]  
US National Whitewater Ctr [email protected] www.usnwc.org
Wilderness Ventures [email protected] www.wildernessventures.com
YMCA Camp Cheerio [email protected] www.campcheerio.org
YMCA Camp Greenville [email protected] www.campgreenville.org
YMCA Camp Hanes [email protected] www.camphanes.org
YMCA Camp Thunderbird [email protected] http://www.campthunderbird.org
YMCA of WNC [email protected] www.ymcaofwnc.org

Comments

comments

Privacy Policy | Rights & Permissions | Discussion Guidelines

Website Management by Outer Banks Media