Plemmons Student Union at Appalachian State to Host 2013 Outdoor Jobs Fair Wednesday, Feb. 20

Published Tuesday, February 19, 2013 at 10:15 am

By Paul T. Choate

Last year's Outdoor Jobs Fair saw over 300 people turn out. Photo courtesy of ASU

Last year’s Outdoor Jobs Fair saw over 300 people turn out. Photo courtesy of ASU

Feb. 19, 2013. The Plemmons Student Union at Appalachian State University will host the 2013 Outdoor Jobs Fair on Wednesday, Feb. 20, in the Grandfather Ballroom from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. The event will give attendees the opportunity to find summer jobs in the great outdoors throughout summer 2013. 

According to Greg Snodgrass, program director with Conference and Camp Services at ASU, there will be approximately 60 businesses and organizations — mostly summer camps in the region — at the job fair. 

The Outdoor Jobs Fair has been going on for several years now at ASU and is primarily geared toward college students, although anyone can attend. Snodgrass said over 300 people turned out for the event last year. 

Though the majority of the businesses and organizations are located off the mountain, some are right here in the High Country, with job opportunities at Rock Dimensions Climbing Guides, Sky Valley Zip Tours and others. 

For more information, contact Michelle Johnson at eldrethmr@appstate.edu.

Need a summer job? 

Here is a listing of the businesses and organizations that will be at the job fair tomorrow:

Affiliation Email Website:
Agape Kure Beach Ministries exec@agapekurebeach.org www.agapekurebeach.org
Betsy-Jeff Penn 4-H Center keith_russell@ncsu.edu  
Calleva Outdoors drewpratt5@yahoo.com www.calleva.org
Camp Arrowhead for Boys rick@camparrowhead.org www.camparrowhead.org
Camp Bethel Ministries stephanie.thorne@campbethel.com www.campbethel.com
Camp Carolina info@campcarolina.com www.campcarolina.com
Camp Don Lee genevieve@donleecenter.org www.donleecenter.org
Camp Glen Arden office@campglenarden.com www.campglenardent.com
Camp Grier tommybrownmdiv@msn.com www.campgrier.org
Camp Highlander mac@camphighlander.com www.camphighlander.com
Camp Hollymont amy@hollymont.com www.hollymont.com
Camp Illahee gretchen@campillahee.com  
Camp Kanata forrest.perry@campkanata.org www.campkanata.org
Camp Lake James asmith@camplakejames.com www.camplakejames.com
Camp Mataponi todd@campmataponi.com www.campmataponi.com
Camp Merrie-Woode sara@merriewoode.com www.merriewoode.com
Camp Merri-Mac and Camp Timberlake annearcher@merri-mac.com www.merri-mac.com
Camp Rockmont shawn@rockmont.com www.rockmont.com
Camp Spearhead amurray@gcrd.org www.campspearhead.org
Camp Tekoa jjohnson@camptekoa.org www.camptekoa.org
Camp Ton-A-Wandah info@camptonawandah.com  
Camp UREC carpenterec@appstate.edu www.campurec.appstate.edu
Charleston County Parks & Recreation Commission aoliver@ccprc.com www.ccprc.com
Cheerio Adventures andrea@campcheerio.org www.Cheerioadventures.com
Chestnut Ridge Camp and Retreat Center beverly@campchestnutridge.org http://www.campchestnutridge.org/
Eagle’s Nest Camp campprogram@enf.org http://www.enf.org
Falling Creek Camp jim@fallingcreek.com www.fallingcreek.com
Girl Scouts Carolinas Peaks to Piedmont celliott@girlscoutsp2p.org www.camplikeagirl.org
Girl Scouts of South Carolina – Mountains to Midland kvicknair@gssc-mm.org www.gssc-mm.org
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation habitats@grandfather.com  
Green River Preserve missy@greenriverpreserve.org www.greenriverpreserve.org
Gwynn Valley Camp andy@gwynnvalley.com www.gwynnvalley.com
Kanuga Conferences Inc cmurawski@kanuga.org www.kanuga.org
KenMont and KenWood Camps jason@kencamp.com www.kenmontkenwood.com
Keystone Camp marisa@keystonecamp.com  
Landmark Learning jsp@landmarklearning.org www.landmarklearning.org
Monroe Camp & Retreat Center annlocklear@monroecamp.org www.monroecamp.org
Rock Dimensions Climbing Guides ryan@rockdimensions.com www.rockdimensions.com
Rockbrook Camp for Girls sofie@rockbrookcamp.com  
Rockfish Camp and Retreat Center hannah@camprockfish.org http://www.camprockfish.org
SOAR, Inc. pate-moore@soarnc.org www.soarnc.org
SummerShine Resort Staffing Ministry cathleen@summershine.us www.summershine.us
SUWS of the Carolinas pritchie@suwscarolinas.com www.suwscarolinas.com
Talisman Summer Camp dsmathers@talismancamps.com www.talismansummercamp.com
The Salvation Army Christopher.Flanagan@uss.salvationarmy.org www.campwj.com
The Town of Beech Mountain Parks & Recreation Department bpowell@townofbeechmountain.com www.beechrecreation.org
Toe River Lodge & Sky Valley Zip Tours toeriverlodge@gmail.com  
US National Whitewater Ctr rbickett@usnwc.org www.usnwc.org
Wilderness Ventures shauna@wildernessventures.com www.wildernessventures.com
YMCA Camp Cheerio andrea@campcheerio.org www.campcheerio.org
YMCA Camp Greenville amanker@ymcagreenville.org www.campgreenville.org
YMCA Camp Hanes m.wyatt@ymcanwnc.org www.camphanes.org
YMCA Camp Thunderbird kaye.carraway@ymcacharlotte.org http://www.campthunderbird.org
YMCA of WNC wlong@ymcawnc.org www.ymcaofwnc.org

Comments

comments

Privacy Policy | Rights & Permissions | Discussion Guidelines

Website Management by Outer Banks Media